Thursday, August 30, 2007

Stems and Cells

I could go on and on about them. Why the research is so important. Grandparents having died from various cancers and Alzheimer's. Knowing too many people with M.S. (did you know that the majority of U.S. cases are clustered around the banks of the Mississippi, from Minnesota all the way down to NOLA?)

A woman I work with is going through treatment for breast cancer. She is amazing and strong and phenomenal. Today, after radiation, she told me that the radiation clinic, there was an 18-month-old baby undergoing radiation. He was sedated so as to keep him still and unaware. His parents couldn't come in the room to be with him because, well, it's radiation.

I simply can't wrap my head around how unfair life can be. Cancer sucks, obvi, but it is just beyond reprehensibly wrong that a little child should have to suffer through cancer and treatment. I also cannot imagine how someone could see a child and his family having to go through such an ordeal, and still oppose stem cell research.

I called my kid Stem Cell before we knew he 1) was viable; 2) was a real little boy; and 3) had a name. I hear that stem cells are also found in the blood from umbilical cords. I wonder if one can donate that to research? Maybe that could be his first political act (I've been prohibited from placing him in a baby carrier and bringing him to the September 2008 RNC protests). If I can figure out how to donate cord blood, that would be a cool and close second to civil disobedience. And would start him out well- one tiny little brown footstep forward...

Thursday, August 23, 2007

Bumper Morons

Sitting in traffic on the way home from work tonight, I saw one of the most infuriating yet stupidest bumper stickers I have ever seen. It said "Bad Liberal! No Welfare!" What an asinine statement "no welfare" is. Obviously, the poster of sticker means to oppose all government assistance to the poor which to me indicates that he lacks any empathy at all, and probably should be isolated and studied to determine what factors can lead a human being who is born innocent and without disdain can morph into a being that cannot understand that even poor children deserve to eat.

But I digress. Mostly, this bumper sticker is stupid because "No welfare" sounds like the poster advocates general mayhem and suffering. I wanted to pull up next to the driver and say "So, no welfare? Does that include the general welfare, buddy? Because the text of the U.S. Constitution empowers Congress to tax and spend for the general welfare! So I guess somebody thought that at least some welfare was a good idea?! Huh? Huh?! What do you think about that, you fucking moron!?"

As this nerdy rage built slowly in my chest, a Toyota Prius pulled up next to me. On it's bumper was a "What Would Wellstone Do?" bumper sticker. Suddenly my blood cooled. I guess I don't know what Wellstone would have done in this particular situation, but I was calmed by the reality that there are far more Prius-driving, Wellstone-loving liberals in these parts than there are morons that have taken up an opposition the general welfare.

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

SVU Can't Fool Me

Last night I was watching an old re-run of Law & Order: SVU (yeah, yeah, I know that's what I do most nights). I'm not sure of the season but Olivia still had very short hair, Cabot the blond was still the A.D.A., but Ice-T had already joined the cast. Any ideas as to what season that would be?

Regardless, the case was the A.D.A. trying 3 women for raping a male stripper just after New York's rape law changed to allow the possibility of men being victims of sexual assault. Ok, fine. Interesting. Classic SVU.

Except, one of the 3 defendants was none other than...CASEY NOVAK! Yes, that's right, the very same red-head-turned-blond actress who currently plays A.D.A. Novak on SVU was the perp last night! How can it be? Of course, she didn't play Casey Novak in last night's episode, but instead was a day trader on Wall Street who liked to handcuff and assault men. But still, the SAME actress? They must have been pretty impressed with her performance as a guest star to offer her a full-time job. Or, maybe Elliot lost his temper and smacked her across the face, and she threatened to sue unless she was added as a regular to the show.

In any case, I am flabbergasted that SVU was so careless as to recycle actresses and actors on this occasion, and now I am wondering if this happens often in the Law & Order franchise. I am going to be watching my daily dose of L & O with a new skepticism, just waiting for that thug from Season 1 to appear as a distinguished forensic psychiatrist in Season 5. They will not fool me.

Friday, August 17, 2007

That Time of Year Already?

This morning when I went out to my car, it felt like fall. Brisk. No humidity. I anticipate more summer before it's really fall, but I have to say I am ready. This summer has been too hot, and too full of test-taking. So a new season is in order for me.

I really love the Fall. It's always a strangely nostalgic time for me. The brisk mornings remind me of going out to my first car and driving to high school, picking up a couple friends on the way, so we could begin our day of bitching about high school jerks as early as possible. Autumn evenings remind me of sitting in my room for hours on the phone with Sarah or Jamie in high school, and of that time in my life when emotions were never more amplified; elation, tragedy, melodrama. Looking back, much of it was absurd, but it's far enough away now that I have developed some affection for those days of emotion-squared. Just as I am writing this, the forces of nostalgia envelope me further as the girl working a few doors down from me has put on Jewel's "Pieces of You." Christ, Jewel was even more melodramatic than we were!

The end of August also always makes me miss college- flying back to L.A. to catch up with those people I hadn't seen all summer. Each time a new school year started promised new adventures in political idealism, plenty of late night revelations while smoking, and a good many party pictures that, as the weeks went on, became indistinguishable from the pictures the Saturday before.

I guess it makes sense that Fall always makes me look back. It's a season of new beginnings (at least for students) and of endings (the end of the summer, the end of green, the end of long days with seemingly endless sunshine).

With just one cool morning getting all these thoughts brewing in me, I have a feeling this Fall is going to be even more nostalgic for me than most--so many things are changing in my life right now, and while they are exciting, it's also scary. The unknown can make looking back comfortable and comforting. I think I'm lucky because a lot of those people that were in my life during those times I get nostalgic about are still part of my life now, and that familiarity makes these big changes a little less scary and a little less likely to make me revert to the melodrama of high school. So, in spite of myself, even though Jewel might still write music and put out lame CDs, I don't buy them anymore, even when crisp mornings make me feel nostalgic.

Thursday, August 16, 2007

Why People Shouldn't Raise Children in the Suburbs

The mom brings the 5-year-old daughter to see "Hairspray" in the movie theater. Mother and daughter enjoy happy-go-lucky musical that takes place during segregation. After movie, daughter asks mother: "Do we have negro days, too?"

A part of me thinks this story is funny. A perfectly innocent question from a small child who doesn't understand what any of it means.

On the other hand, it's also disturbing. When I taught pre-school in the heart of Southwest Minneapolis, my 3-year-olds could tell you who Martin Luther King, Jr. was and they had a general idea of why he was important and celebrated. They were at least aware of the time in America when little white children and little brown children were not allowed to play together or go to school together and they knew that was a bad thing.

This is why children should be raised in the city. And why they should go to pre-school. There are lots of holidays in pre-school, including the celebration of Flag Day, but we don't have negro days in pre-school.

Saturday, August 11, 2007

The Rain and Bible School

I think this biblical times book I'm reading is going to my head. Tonight, finally, Minneapolis is having a good, hard, soaking rain. It has been months. Eduardo commented that it would be a pleasant change to not have to water our yard every day, at least for awhile. I stood at the door and said "Finally the rains have come. " Um, totally a biblical thing to say. At least I didn't follow it up with "Our crops and herds will now be well nourished. El has looked upon us with favor." Then we would know for sure that I had lost it.

I am about half done with The Red Tent and I really like it. Having attended Sunday school all while I grew up, I am quite well-versed in the Old Testament stories. Throughout my childhood, I even participated in several "productions" of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. You wish I would post the photos. Not going to happen.

Anyway, a dramatization of the details of these familiar Old Testament stories is fascinating. And strangely, while I knew that Joseph was Jacob's favorite son out of his 12 sons and that is why Jacob gave him the fancy coat and made Joseph's brothers want to kill him, I had no idea that Joseph had a sister who didn't want to kill him, or that these 12 sons of Jacob came from 4 different mothers, all of whom were sisters and married to Jacob. I guess that part was too scandalous for Sunday school?

But now the rains have come and now I know the whole story. Jacob was a total player.

Tuesday, August 7, 2007

Moment of Yawning

Today I was involved in a conversation that ended up making me seem like I am heartless. But I am not, I swear. See what you think.

Me: Are you going to your block party tonight?

Other: Yes, and there's going to be a moment of silence for the victims of the 35W disaster at 6:05 followed by church bells at 6:06.

Me: YAWN (spoken, and exaggerated)

Other: Um, well, I think that's appropriate. I mean, people died.

Me: Yeah, but there's already been a statewide moment of silence. Multiple moments of silence within a week seems silly.

I am silent lots of moments each day. So? Moments of silence are one of those exercises in *civility* that I find boring and meaningless. It's sort of like going to visit a grave. I think my grandma doesn't like it that I never go to my grandpa's grave. But the thing is, that's not how I mourn and it's not how I remember him. I do not associate anyone's grave with the actual person. I remember and honor my grandpa when I re-read a book by Mark Twain or I look at the dollhouse he made for me with his own hands when I was a little girl. Visiting his grave doesn't bring me closer to his memory.

Likewise, an ordered moment of silence doesn't seem to me a great sign of respect or mourning for anyone. Probably a lot of people are just silent because it would be weird to talk, and they aren't thinking about the dead people, but about the bills they have to pay, or what they're going to eat from the bbq at their block party.

More appropriate than a moment of silence would be a moment of discussion regarding crumbling infrastructure in this country and why people keep voting for leaders who prioritize low taxes, rather than safety and social responsibility.

But, for future reference, it is apparently inappropriate to say and feign "YAAWWN" when someone mentions a scheduled moment of silence for dead people.

*As an aside, I have a sneaking suspicion that my son's first word is going to be a sassy, sarcastic "yawn" to someone who says something boring or stupid. We will be so proud.

Sunday, August 5, 2007

Learning to Read Again

Or, better said, learning to enjoy to read again. The past 3 years have been all about case law bound in volumes weighing between 8 and 20 lbs. While sometimes enlightening, sometimes infuriating, and often times boring, "fun" is not a word I would use to describe reading for law school.

It's slightly unsettling to think that come September, my bookshelves will not be reloaded with another set of law books. It's been a long time since I have been a true non-student with time to read for pleasure. The law school years have been particularly void of reading books simply because I want to read. I felt like the free time I did have during law school was better spent with my family, using my unlimited Verizon minutes, or making sure I truly understood the law by watching Law and Order.

But now, a new world: no note-taking; no outlining; no papers. Last night, a friend of my mom's loaned me a book called The Red Tent. It's a fictional account of the little-known Old Testament character Dinah, daughter of Jacob and sister of Joseph and his amazing technicolor dream coat. Not something I would ever be likely to buy or think to choose, but after the first several pages, something that has engrossed me. I will wait until I finish to decide whether to recommend it.

In my "new life," I am going to once again be someone that reads for pleasure. So, what's out there? Any suggestions for books or authors? The more random the better. Keep 'em coming.

Thursday, August 2, 2007

Oh yeah, also...

We are fine. The whole Lund - Alcantara - Kemmer extended family was not on or near the bridge.

It was, however, very weird to not be able to use my cell phone for several hours. Just when I was irritated that I pay $33.33 per month for a land line I never use, all of a sudden it seemed very worth it. You've got me, Comcast.

Telling the Truth

Maybe it's too early to start saying anything about the bridge collapse in my beloved city other than "So terrible." But I'm going to say something anyway. In all the news reports, especially in the national news, the story goes something like this: "A bridge crossing the Mississippi River on a thoroughfare interstate through downtown Minneapolis collapsed at 6:05pm, at the height of rush hour." Tragic and true, except that, in Minneapolis, 6:05pm is not the height of rush hour.

6pm sounds like rush hour. And on the coasts it is, I'm pretty sure. But here in the Twin Cities, we like to work from 7:00am-4:00pm. 4:30 max. Especially in the summer. In fact, many offices close at noon on Fridays in the summer because people have lakes to go to and precious few months to enjoy them. Ask anyone in Minneapolis-- the rush hours are from 6:30am-8:00am and from 3:30pm-5:30pm.

Here's an example. Yesterday I left work at 5:00pm and it took me 45 minutes to get home. Today I left work at 6:00pm and it took me 20 minutes to get home. Hence, 6:00pm is not rush hour.

The point of this is, if the 35W bridge would have collapsed an hour or two earlier, I think the outcome would have been even more dire. The fact of the matter is that, on a hot summer afternoon, any Minnesotan will sell his soul to get out of the office by 4:30pm and to take his rightful place basking in the sun near a lake. By 6:00pm, only the the restaurant and bar workers, the baseball fans, and the new lawyers are still driving in downtown Minneapolis.

This whole writing is maybe trite. It isn't meant to make light of the situation. In fact, I love Minneapolis like a dear friend and am extremely loyal to it. Just ask anyone with whom I went to college. I am chock full of Minneapolis love and trivia. So when Minneapolis gets hurt, the loyal friend in me comes out blazing. One of the things I love about Minneapolis is how people know how to balance life and work-- we know that on a beautiful summer afternoon, it's better to get the hell out of work far before 6:00pm. So, it's from this love that the truth-telling stems. 6:00pm is not rush hour, and I think this sad situation would be even more tragic had the bridge collapsed at 4:30. There you have it.