Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Teddy

When I was reading the article at New York Times, I couldn't help but feeling a colossal sense of gratitude. Certainly, I also feel sad, particularly because he didn't get to see all of the (hopefully) great things that are going to happen in the Obama administration. However, how can we not feel such gratitude to Senator Kennedy in light of this (borrowed from the Times online):

"Kennedy, who became known as the "Lion of the Senate," played major roles in passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act and the 1993 Family and Medical Leave Act, and was an outspoken liberal standard-bearer during a conservative-dominated era from the 1980s to the early 2000s."

I mean, geez. These are all absolutely pivotal pieces of legislation. What would this country be like without them? I don't pretend that TK did these things single-handedly, but he wasn't just a sometimes-show-up-to-vote kind of Senator. In a world where Congress gets a sometimes hard to argue with image as a bunch of lazy, selfish, unprincipled, sell-outs, that was sure not Kennedy.

What a life to lead.

"For all those whose cares have been our concern, the work goes on, the cause endures, the hope still lives and the dream shall never die." - Senator Ted Kennedy.

Saturday, August 22, 2009

Cheapskate Update and a Photo

Today I spent $20 on a shirt from Marshalls that I really liked. I need more work shirts and am realizing that sometimes you have to spend more than $4 to get nice fitting shirt that is both appropriate for a professional setting and not ugly. I also am still bothered by the Christian spankers, but don't like having the step-by-step instructions as the last entry of my blog.

Instead we shall have this:



We discipline Johan by making him wear a life jacket. With a crotch strap.
Just kidding.

That's what the US Coast Guard says he has to wear when we go on the boat.

This is what happens when I read crazy mommy blogs...

I have sworn over and over again to not comment, but on a recent post about discipline, I was so disgusted by one of the comments that I couldn't help myself.

Below is what ensued:

Original Comment:
I do believe in spanking…but only in the right way. Before you choose to do this too, I would suggest you seek out what the Bible has to say the process. One scripture reference is this: "Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child; but the rod of correction shall drive it far from him (Proverbs 22:15)." The process we use is this:
a. Only spank when not angry, make sure you have had time to cool down, but don’t wait too long. Like Jennifer mentioned, you need to complete the discipline as soon as possible.
b. Get down on their level.
c. Explain to them why they are getting a spanking.
d. Tell them how many swats they have “earned”.
e. Ask them if they understand why they are about to receive their spanking.
f. Ask them to willingly bend over your knee.
g. DO NOT USE YOUR HANDS….we use a rubber spatula. If you think about the power you have in your arm and the pounds of pressure behind your arm, you can apply quite a bit of force and even throw a spine out of wack. The spatula, however, is the flick of a wrist. The spoon or spatula applies a sting, but isn’t going to harm your child if it is done correct and within reason.
h. Ask them to repeat to you again what they did wrong and ask if they understand.
i. Hug your child and tell them meaningfully that you love them, and that you know they can make better choices.


My reply comment:
Kristina 1 day ago
I absolutely disagree. Hitting your child with a spatula or anything else absolutely is never the answer. It only teaches children that using fists, hands, spatulas or whatever else is how you get people to do what you want. I can't reiterate enough what a bad idea I think this is. It actually gives me disturbed chills to read that you do this to your kids.

Crazy #1 reply comment:
We are living in an "Oprah" society that says that spanking is "hitting" (and homosexuality is wonderful, and we are our own God). But the Truth that has stood the test of time is this: Spanking is Biblical. The Bible speaks of spanking over and over again. While some people fall for the new-age belief that the "rod of discipline" was only meant as a metaphor in the Bible, the people who have truly studied the Word of our Sovereign God will discover that it is an actual rod, and that God tells us "Thou shalt beat him with the rod" for "he will surely not die", but rather "save his soul from hell".

Having said that, I have to emphasize that I agree with Janelle's point that it is most important that our discipline (no matter what form in which we do it) should be done in love.

My next reply comment:
Also, saying that a spatula if "done right" doesn't harm a child completely disregards that a child is more than a physical being. Even if the physical harm is minimal and not permanent, the lessons you are teaching will last long and the shame you are purposely instilling can have far-reaching effects. I don't think Jesus thinks you should smack your kids with spatulas.

Crazy #2 reply comment:
Kristina,
I don't think what Janelle is describing here is a meaningless "smack" with a spatula. Clearly, she and her husband have thought and prayed over how God would have them discipline their children and have chosen to spank. Spanking is actually biblical--"Do not withhold discipline from a child; if you punish him with the rod, he will not die." Proverbs 23:13. I believe that spanking is wrong when done out of anger, but when done out of love and correction, as Janelle describes, it is appropriate.

Original Crazy commenter's reply:
Thank you Rebecca for understanding. I really lost sleep over this last night. Obviously I knew I was putting myself out there by boldly explaining our method of discipline, but I hadn't prepared myself for the negative feedback that may come. I wasn't always a believer of spanking, I actually started out parenting saying.."I'll never do that!". It really took a while for me to believe in it, and then only by the researching in books, the Bible, through counseling through our church, prayer together with my husband...did I come to understand it's Biblical backing. It still isn't always the easiest thing for me to do, because my temperament is the peacemaker...don't really enjoy confrontation. It is definitely never done out of anger, but only because I love my children. (on side note, we of course do not spank our 10 mo). It is also something we rarely have to do.

Kristina-I do appreciate you expressing your concern, it is a controversial subject among many people. The things you said, are thoughts that I at one time had myself...and is something I really had to seek truth out on before deciding to do.


--------------

So much more to write. So much more to say. But, as these people apparently think that it's ok to beat their kids with rods as long as they don't die, it seems their mental problems run far deeper than what I am equipped to handle. This is only one of many reasons that organized religion and its followers disturb me.

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Product Endorsement of a Tight Wad

What did the bird say when it flew over Kristina's head?

Cheap cheap!

Yep, I am cheap. I can be very generous when the mood (or some sort of unexpected flow of cash) strikes me, but when shopping for myself, I am ridiculously cheap. Like, I won't spent $7 on a 1/2 price shirt at Target, because I might be able to get it from the 75% off rack in 3 more weeks. Seriously.

I buy Target brand EVERYTHING, clip coupons and sometimes tear them so the dates don't show if they are about to expire soon, and only buy bras and underwear during Victoria's Secret's semi-annual sale. That's me.

We use Suave brand Cocoa butter lotion -the whole family for hands face and body. It costs $2.88 for a huge bottle.

But, recently I used Sarah's (www.erlignition.blogspot.com) face lotion while trying to minimize my blotchy skin at the cabin. It was Target brand Radiant Skin. Right next to the Aveeno face lotion. It is "proven to even out tone and texture." $10.49 for 4oz.

Gulp.

Totally contrary to my natural inclinations. But I bought some anyway.

And I seriously think it works. I think my skin looks better. Evened out tone! Texture! Is it possible? Am I experiencing a placebo effect? But I really really think it works.

And, I can still be pleased that the Aveeno one costs $15, so I am still getting a deal, right?

Sunday, August 16, 2009

Internetzy-type Question

Labels.

I wish that when I started this blog a couple years ago that I would have put labels on each post.

This is the first one that will have such labels. Is there a quick, relatively simple way to go through previous posts and add labels?

Some labels I think would come up (other than the labels for this post; see below) are: Johan, Food and Drink, Law, My American Life, Cable News (Politics), The Future, 21st Century Bitchfest. How can I add these to my posts?

Is there some kind of "program" I can buy that will scan my blog and add these labels? If I actually add the labels some day when I have nothing to do (or lots to do, but decide to read all 250 old blog posts instead), does that make me a computer programmer?

As an aside, I realize it's been a long time since I've posted any Johan pictures. It's mostly because I put the pictures on facebook, but the blog deserves some of this gorgeous boy too. Here he is doing 3 of his favorite things: yardwork, playing at the park, eating.


Tuesday, August 11, 2009

I'm not sure

...how to feel about this:

Ventriloquist with puppet on television.

Johan notices and shouts out "Elmo!"

We don't have any Elmo books or videos. He must be getting this from the kids at school. The puppet didn't even resemble Elmo.

What's with Elmo? He's like David Koresh for toddlers. What happened to my little baby boy who loved Snuffy?

Sunday, August 9, 2009

Cultured Milk and Memories

Today Johan and I were at Trader Joe's. We don't shop there every week like I did when I lived in California. (Thanks Bad Sarah. You should know that every time I walk into a TJ's, I think of you. Fondly. And black teethily.)

But, I like to avoid high fructose corn syrup and partially hydrogenated oils in food and that is hard to do when buying toddler snacks at the regular grocery store. So, we stock up on non-perishable snacks at Trader Joe's. Cat cookies, Berry walks into a bar, etc. And garlic hummus and chicken gyozas for me.

Today I noticed that TJ's has 1% Kefir, which I haven't had in years but used to buy and drink for breakfast all the time when I lived in the Dominican Republic. I spent most of my time with some British, Swedish and German women and they were all addicted to Kefir "cultured milk." A gross (but accurate) way of saying drinkable yogurt. I bought some today thinking Johan might like it for a snack. We came home and both had a glass of it. He liked it, of course. It's sweet and milky and strawberry-flavored. What's not to like?

And I felt like I was back in the United Nations library with my Euro friends having Kefir and empanadas for breakfast. It's strange how the memory works- that even a food can evoke powerful associations. And make me spend about an hour searching for flights to Croatia to visit my Swedish friend so we can drink Kefir together again. We would probably drink some other things, too, as this is the same woman who introduced me to the Vodka Ciclon.

But they don't sell Vodka Ciclon's at TJ's, so that's why I have to go to Croatia. See?

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

National Night Argh...

One this night of all nights. This is the night that my abstract ideals clash with the way I actually live. National Night Out. I love the idea of it- a community coming together; building relationships that strengthen the city. But, in reality, I can't bring myself to go. Tonight, as I was getting a massage, I was thinking about why. 2 years ago my excuse was that I would be annoyed by the moment of silence because of the recent bridge collapse. Tonight I realized that it's because the topics of discussion are unlimited. If people would promise to only talk about flowers in their gardens, pop culture, the weather, and their kids or pets, I could stomach it for one night. Even though I hate small talk, I would suck it up for one night.

What I can't handle is people talking about important topics about which they are uninformed or ill-informed. Like, I don't want to hear about how great the Crash for Clunkers Program is because some jackass traded in his 1996 Expedition for a 2009Honda and got $4,500. Right, because a band aid always helps severed limbs. Because paying jackasses $4,500 is a great substitute for the complete overhaul and reprioritization that this economy needs. And maybe the billions this program is going to cost could be the beginnings of a program we fund to make sure that people have health care. Even poor people. Even immigrants.

You know, just for example.

This is how I would end up alienating myself from my neighbors at a block party.

And then they would not share their gardening tips with me when we cross paths on walks or as Johan plays teeball in the yard.

And this is why I don't go to block parties.

Monday, August 3, 2009

Crazy Commie Cristina...wait, Kristina

Today I had lunch with my cousin for her birthday. She made me drive to the suburbs to go to TGI Fridays. Trust me, you're not missing anything. Gross food. But free dessert. The point is, her husband is a right wing Republican, mainly because they like country music and have a camper. And he lives in a suburb/small town where all the streets start with "K." Kreepy!

She was telling me how she's sick of her husband turning the channel to Fox News every morning while getting ready for work and how she doesn't really think it's *fair and balanced.* So, I gently offered her the suggestion of watching MSNBC. It's Morning Joe with Joe Scarborough, a former Republican Florida congressman. But Mika and Harold Ford and Willie provide some liberal slant and Pat Buchanan is there to hang with Joe. It really is quite balanced. Not like my lover Keith Olberman. But a good morning politics show, indisputably.

And to my suggestion, my cousin asked if her husband would think it was just another "crazy Communist Kristina" idea. It's weird how your cousins in suburbia see you. How somehow living within city limits, voting Democrat, believing in civil rights for all people, attending/legal observing a protest here and there, and adhering to the Bill of Rights somehow makes one a radical?