Sunday, July 17, 2011

Anniversaries

You all know how I feel about religious and cultural holidays- way too played up and usually end in disappointment.

Birthdays and personal holidays like anniversaries and graduations are different. I firmly believe those should be celebrated with much pomp and circumstance.

My 30th birthday was done right. On the Saturday before my birthday, we had a bash at Brianna's parents that involved almost all of the people that matter to me within 50 miles of Minneapolis, a swimming pool and jacuzzi, a strawberry souffle cake, mustard dip, glow necklaces, bubbles, wine "tasting" (read: guzzling), beer pong, and laughter that makes your kidneys hurt. At one point I was standing on the deck looking out at people, and I noted to myself that my life is damn good. It was a very similar feeling I remember having as I looked out into the ballroom at the Embassy Suites on July 17, 2004. Holy smokes, this life is beautiful.

Today is my wedding anniversary. I just thought of it about 30 minutes ago while taking a shower. And, unexpectedly, I became very emotional. I can't really articulate why. I remember that day so well. It was an incredible day. So much love. So much fun. So much laughter. So much. Kind of like my 30th birthday party actually (but for that the birthday party had a few key players missing and a few people present who didn't exist when I got married.) This is the first 17th of July that's come around since I got divorced. I can't remember what we did for our anniversary last year. Probably nothing.

It's weird how anniversaries work. Like, I never have any idea what I've done on any June 4th or December 9th or February 10th. Ever.

But there I will always know how I've spent November 15th (since 2007- never before that year) or July 11th. And I guess I will always think about my wedding on July 17th.
8 years ago, we were getting ready to head to the courthouse.

7 years ago, we were in the rose gardens at Lake Harriet taking pictures and then danced at least 5 times to "Heyya."

6 years ago, we ate at Kinhdo and drank rum on the balcony of our apartment.

5 years ago, we danced at Conga. Eduardo drank too many Pina Coladas.

4 years ago, I was studying for the bar exam and we waited until I was done and then spent a weekend at the cabin celebrating the bar exam finishing, our anniversary, and the baby growing in my belly.

3 years ago, we had take out from El Meson because Johan had a summer fever.

2 years ago, we stayed at a hotel downtown and ate an incredible meal at Masa. We drank champagne and toasted 5 years. There were chocolate covered strawberries.
And my dad gave us a Wii.

1 year ago...can't remember. Not sure why. Did we do nothing? Maybe so. Things were careening toward

And today. Today I am going over to Pauly's for a BBQ with my oldest friends in the world. Spending the afternoon and evening with people who were at my wedding, and who will be there when things are celebratory and when things are low. Getting through a day that is unexpectedly emotional and kind of hard. And more than "getting through," living it up.

It's this one life we've got and July 17th isn't a day that Eduardo and I will commemorate together anymore, but it's still a day. Today Johan and I will do something else and make new memories with our fictive kin and celebrate all the things we have for which to be thankful.

What?

We're supposed to do that on the 4th Thursday of November? It's a holiday? Thanksgiving? Uh-uh. We will have Thanksgiving on July 17th. We will grill shrimp and pineapple and eat potato salad with bacon and drink white wine and play with squirt guns. That's Thanksgiving.

I guess I really do like holiday traditions, after all.