Monday, December 31, 2007

Goal Setting for the New Year

I don't much believe in New Year's resolutions. I've never kept one, and I haven't made one in a long time. But this time of year, people always ask about them, and I respond that I think setting goals is better than making resolutions. At my hippie dippie open elementary school, every trimester we had parent-teacher-student goal setting conferences. The student, with the support of parents and the teacher, set goals in each of these areas:

1) Intrapersonal
2) Interpersonal
3) Creative Expression
4) Math and Logical Reasoning
5) Verbal Skills
6) Physical Fitness
7) Community Action and Social Justice

I think these 7 categories do a nice job of breaking the "self" into manageable compartments and so I have decided to set goals for 2008 in each of these areas.

1) INTRAPERSONAL: My attention will be drawn in many directions in 2008, and my goal is to make sure I have one hour of uninterrupted peaceful solitude per week in 2008. Time for me to think, write, blog, breathe.

2)INTERPERSONAL: My goal is to be a good listener. While the time I have to talk to friends on the phone might be less than it was in much of 2007, I want that time I do have to be quality and so my goal is to not be one of those people who interrupts someone in the middle of a sentence to announce that the baby has pooped. Having good listening as a goal will also ensure my marriage(s) stay strong. In 2008, it will be important to make sure that Eduardo and I have our evening pillow talk as much as possible. Finally, being a good listener will help me be a better mom- understanding the cooing, crying, babbling language of Johan will allow us to communicate and me to meet his needs.

3) CREATIVE EXPRESSION: I would like to write poetry again. This is one of my loftier goals but might fit nicely in with my intrapersonal goals outlined in item one. My goal is to write one poem before January is over. Then, maybe 1 per month for the rest of the year.

4) MATH AND LOGICAL REASONING: Well, lawyers don't do math. I suppose I could repeat my goal of 3rd grade when my goal was to memorize all my multiplication table, but that seems a waste of time since I have a calculator on my desk. So, my "math" goals are really financial, and there are two. First, my goal is to save at least $50 per month in my savings account. I know this sounds very small but with our mortgage, student loans, and daycare payments, this year will be tight financially. Yet, saving just a bit every month will add up. Second, and related, my salary is partly tied to a bonus system and so my goal is to be an aggressive and pro-active attorney who creates enough revenue to maximize that bonus.

5) VERBAL SKILLS: In 4th grade, my goal was to read the newspaper every day. That's a good goal to have, and is one of my goals for 2008. And reading it online counts as the newspaper because daily subscriptions are a waste of paper and money. In the verbal arena, my goal is also to be a good communicator to my clients. It is so easy for attorneys to talk about legal problems and their potential solutions in legalese that no one else understands. I am pretty good at explaining things in lay terms (I think this comes from my Montessori teacher background). What I am less good at is taking the time to fully and thoroughly explain WHY my advice is what it is - what the law is and how the way the law is makes my advice the best choice. So, my goal here is to be a patient and thorough communicator with my clients.

6) PHYSICAL FITNESS: I always hated this one in elementary school because I was clumsy and had crappy large motor skills, and that was never going to change. Alas, I am still clumsy and have crappy large motor skills. I have, however, mastered the treadmill. My goal for 2008 is to treadmill at least 4 times per week and to eat a healthy and well-balanced diet.

7) COMMUNITY ACTION AND SOCIAL JUSTICE: One word: ELECTION. Hillary, Obama, Edwards...whichever one rises to the top, I intend to do everything in my power to get one of them elected. My goal is that in November 2008, someone will be elected to the White House that will make this country better for me, for you, and for Johan.
Also, in September of 2008, the RNC is having its convention here. My goal is to take advantage of the national spotlight being on the Twin Cities by helping mobilize major protests against RNC policies. I think I will do so by being a legal observer at the marches.


Those are my goals for 2008. I think most of them are within reach. Happy New Year. Over and out until 2008.

Monday, December 24, 2007

Merry Christmas



Merry Christmas to my blog-readers. Yes, today counts as Christmas. It's a 2-day holiday. Just ask any divorced kid with 2 gentile parents how many days Christmas is. Two. So, Merry Christmas. If I had been able to get my act together, I would have sent out a witty Christmas card and letter with these pictures attached. As it is, I am not even going to send an e-mail. My only written Christmas greeting will be right here- for those of you who are kind enough to indulge me by reading this self-indulgent publication. I hope this finds you warm, happy, slightly tipsy, and enjoying Christmas.

Love, Kristina - Eduardo - Johan

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Out Damn Spot, Out I Say

Here's a couple things I have learned in the past 4 weeks, 6 days.

1) When you have a baby, the amount of laundry you have to do increased exponentially. It's not just the kid's clothes- he has plenty, and they're so tiny that his entire wardrobe is less than a full laundry load. When it was just 2 of us, we would wear pants and shirts numerous times before washing them. Now, it's a miracle if something isn't thrown up on or peed on within 2 hours of putting it on. So, we all have a lot more laundry.

2) Always get baby ready for the day- fed, changed, and clothed before getting self dressed. See #1 for further explanation.

3) I am confounded by the tags on baby clothes and associated paraphernalia. The bibs, burp cloths, and blankets all tell my that it's ok to iron them "when necessary." WTF?! When in holy hell would it ever be necessary to iron ANYTHING for a baby? I don't even own an iron! The only clothes of mine that should or could be ironed are suits and I have them dry-cleaned. Until Johan has his first bunad (traditional Norwegian costume that he will wear to celebrate Norway's Constitution Day), we will not have one article of anything that would make dry-cleaning or ironing even a remote possibility. Any parent that is spending her or his time ironing bibs or blankets probably has had a mental breakdown, should be deemed incompetent, and the child for whom that parent is ironing should be removed from the home. Yeah, I watch a lot of Law and Order: SVU where children are removed from the home. But, seriously, "iron when necessary?" Crazy, I tell you. CRAZY.

Sloth, Kristina Style

In some ways, I don't think of myself as a lazy person. I mean, this has been a big year for me being in action, DOING things. I finished law school; studied for and took and passed the bar exam; bought a house; and birthed a baby. All this while juggling roles as wife, daughter, friend, and decent human being. So, yeah, I do a lot.

Yet, I will let a bag of garbage sit by the back door for 4 days because I am too lazy to take it outside. I will leave socks on the floor because I can't be bothered to pick them up. In high school, Sarah tied a fake wreath on to the front of my car one Christmas. It was a brilliant surprise. But not surprisingly, I never took it off. Christmas came and went. The wreath stayed. I sold that car a year and half later and finally took the wreath off.

This year, it's Christmas ornaments. I would rather watch more crappy reality TV than actually put ornaments on the Christmas tree I bought. So, now 3 weeks after having purchased said tree, putting it up, and stringing it with lights, it still has no ornaments. And it's 6 days before Christmas. Eduardo has now gone to the DR, so it's just Johan and me at the house. Johan likes the lights but doesn't know Christmas from a hole in the ground and so I figure, what's the use of putting ornaments on the tree now? I know if I actually did it, I would end up leaving them on and the tree standing until mid- to late January. Why? I don't know. That's just sloth, my style. Or maybe, a year and half from now, when Johan is talking, he'll ask me why we're the only family that keeps a tree decorated with lights and ornaments in the house 365 days a year.

Sunday, December 9, 2007

December Update, Or a Better Picture with Grandpa


Moira's been here the past few days. It's been great to have her here to hang out, drink a little wine, eat good food, meet Johan, hold Johan, take pictures of Johan etc. There are lots of new pictures at facebook.com.

But, because my dad has not stopped mentioning the crappy picture of he and Johan I put on my blog, here's a much better one.

In other news, Johan likes to barf a lot these days and this morning we suctioned a mondo booger out of his nose. I promise that come January 3, 2008, I will rejoin the real world and have things to write about other than, you know, boogers.

Thursday, November 29, 2007

Everybody loves a baby who's 2 weeks old














It should be noted that it took me an hour to upload these pictures to the blog and to facebook, and I'm not even sure it's working. Thank goodness Moira is coming to town next weekend- she can help me get all the pictures in nice little online albums, right?

Monday, November 26, 2007

Thanksgiving Humor

My great-grandma is 101 and is in quite good health but for macular degeneration which has left her pretty much blind. On Thanksgiving, she held Johan for some time and was happy to do so, but commented that she wished she could see him better (I tried to push thoughts of the Big Bad Wolf out of my head). She asked me what color his eyes and hair were. I smiled, because, see, my great-grandma is a racist. I thought it would be amusing to say he had blond hair and blue eyes. She'd know I'm lying, because she still had some vision when Eduardo and I got married. But maybe I could secure Johan a place in great-grandma's will if I could convince her that he was, indeed, a scandiababy. But, alas, committed to teaching my new son that truth is important, I told her that his hair is black and his eyes dark brown. That should secure him at least 3/5 of a place in her will. And maybe 40 acres and a mule.

On a side note, speaking of mules, Johan is living up to his in utero reputation of being "abnormally stubborn and strong-willed."

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Details (not too gory)

First of all, thanks to everyone who has called and e-mailed. It's been a busy few days and learning to do this is a little bit like the beginning of college, law school, or living in a new country. Lots of mistakes; a bit overwhelming; getting used to that nothing will ever be the same again. I'm sorry I haven't been able to answer my phone too much and am getting sorely behind on returning calls, but I will try to get better at that in the days to come.

Here are some highlights from the last few days.

-- Johan was delivered by c-section at 3:18 pm on November 15. My mom and Eduardo were in scrubs and in the room with me. Eduardo described himself as "doctor for a day."

-- Johan weighed 7lbs, 12 oz and was 21 inches long. Ummm...very much in the 50th percentile, and not at all over 9 lbs like the doctors were estimating. He is perfect and beautiful (see pictures in previous post).

-- Johan had lots of visitors in the first few days of life- lots of family and friends, including Michelle who came all the way from Chicago and Sarah who came all the way from Madison so that all important cities in the upper midwest were represented in welcoming him.

--Eduardo did a great job in the delivery room and then carried Johan to the nursery to be weighed and cleaned off. After that was over, he stepped out of the nursery and fainted. Like a true telenovela story. He didn't hit his head and Michelle together with a nurse wheeled Eduardo down the hospital emergency room to be checked out. He was diagnosed with a case of being an overwhelmed new dad. Other than that, he was perfectly fine. And continues to be perfectly fine, a great dad, and a 50-50partner with me in navigating this new life.

-- Sarah is Johan's godmother and will take care of the "My First Hanukkah" page of Johan's baby book. She will be responsible for kindness, a social conscience, and has already started giving out spiritual guidance ("Anything that you poop on should be easy to clean.").

--Johan is sleeping right now and seems to not grasp the concept that we stay awake during the day and sleep at night. I am hoping he learns this soon, although I must say I am bursting with pride at all the things he has already learned: to breathe; to eat; to burp; to open one eye while leaving the other closed; to furrow his brow; to cry; and to suck on his finger.

So, my mom is cooking us dinner right now, and I am going to sign off and start sampling the spaghetti sauce.

Thanks for everyone's well-wishes. I will update again soon.

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

A Bit of Friendly Advice

If you ask a 9-month pregnant woman how things are going or how her doctor appointment went, just say nice things. Don't say things like "oooh, that's too bad" or "bummer," even if what she tells you is less than a perfect or ideal situation. Because you will just make her feel bad, and mostly whatever happens is out of her hands right now and anything you say besides "it's going to be fine" will probably just make her an insomniac and have to watch paid programming in the middle of the night.

I'm just saying.

Wednesday, November 7, 2007

Trust Me, I'm a Professional

It's kind of strange to be an actual, real, live licensed attorney. I spent so long as a clerk responding to client questions with "This is not legal advice as I am not an attorney, but...[insert answer to generally common sense question here]." Well, now I don't have to say that. In fact, I can advise a person who calls wanting to open a new case that, while I am sorry he broke his leg playing soccer, he's really assumed the risk and can't sue his recreational soccer team for damages. And that is legal advice.

I'm a greener attorney now than I will ever be. I certainly don't know more now than I did before October 26th, when I was admitted to practice. But I can say "I am an attorney/Soy abogada" and whatever follows that phrase carries more clout than it would otherwise.

I saw a really young doctor yesterday because mine has abandoned me until next Monday. She is in Africa helping those women, when she should be here for me. It's ok; I forgive her. I am surviving. But, this doctor from yesterday was way too young/green/cute for me to take seriously. My real doctor is at least 45 years old and her face and demeanor are full of experience and wisdom. She knows what's she's doing. I'm sure this doctor I saw yesterday in lieu of my own doctor is a qualified physician, but she was too green for my taste. She looked like she was in a sorority and was probably someone I would have resented in college for her shallow perspective and her unwillingness to be political enough. Thus, I trust her less to give me medical advice. I mean, how can she be that much of an expert? I used to know girls like her and they're mostly interested in keg parties and tight black pants on sale at Express.

I wonder if clients think similar things about me-- How can she know what she's talking about? What does someone so young know about law? But yet, they listen, they keep calling for more advice, their cases move forward, and are often resolved happily. Maybe part of my trick is having so many native Spanish-speaking clients. When they see/hear a gringa roll her "r"s like a native, they know I must be more than a sorority girl who went to Cancun a few times for MTV Spring Break, and having established that, maybe I actually know something about law, too. I hope so, anyway.

Maybe that young doctor should quit getting such streaky blond highlights and learn to roll her "r"s and then I might be able to trust her advice. Better yet, I'll just hold off on having this baby until my real doctor comes home. Godspeed.

Sunday, November 4, 2007

Drop it like it's hot

News on the baby-front:

  • Blessed child has descended to pelvis. This is called "dropping." TMI? WhatEV. This is good news because Pavo probably doesn't have a gigantic head making delivery impossible. Could still be 2-3 weeks to delivery, but maybe shorter? I will know more after seeing the MDs on Tuesday.
  • Pavo gets the hiccups frequently.
  • I had a dream the other night that he was born able to talk and when we were going home from the hospital he said "Hey, this reminds me of..." Then I interrupted him and said "What the hell? This can't possibly remind you of anything. You have never done or experienced anything so how can this car remind you of something?" And then we laughed together. And then I was apparently laughing in my sleep because it woke me up.

On a related note, I have determined that the hospital where we are delivering has WiFi so we can update the blog during the big event. Having my computer with me also means that I can watch many episodes of Season 3 and Season 6 of Sex and the City. Don't worry- they are already packed in my hospital bag.

Thursday, November 1, 2007

Happy Halloween Mr. Vice President

Yesterday I stopped by Kowalskis to pick up one more bag of Halloween candy. As I was going into the store, Vice President Walter Mondale was leaving. (By the way, you always address heads of state and other government officials by the highest office they ever held, even if they no longer hold it. For example, it's wrong to say "Mr. Mondale" or "Mr. Clinton" -- the appropriate address would be "Mr. Vice President" in the former case and "Mr. President" in the latter. It surprises me how many people don't know this. But I digress.) I know Vice President Mondale as I was his student last year, and so we greeted each other and spoke for a few minutes. A teenage employee of Kowalskis was carrying Vice President Mondale's grocery bag, and he stood to the side, waiting, as the Vice President and I spoke.

After I went in the store, I wished I would have looked closer at the grocery-carrier's face to see his reaction to my conversation with the Vice President. The clerk was a high school kid, probably counting the seconds until he could get the hell out of work and go smash some pumpkins or TP the mean girl's house. But, I wonder if he even realized he was carrying the groceries of the former Vice President of the United States.

I have always known who Walter Mondale is, and until yesterday, it never occurred to me that anyone in Minnesota wouldn't know enough about him to recognize him. But maybe that's because I was alive in the 80s, am a tried and true Minnesota liberal Democrat, come from a community of proud Norwegian-Minnesotans who love to call Mondale one of our own stock, and from a family that closely follows politics. I guess that's not everybody. I mean, would an average 16-year-old kid have any reason to recognize Walter Mondale when he walks into a store? I hope so. I hope that kid addressed him as "Mr. Vice President." I bet he didn't.

As a side note, it was Pavo's first run-in with a famous person. I'm glad it was a DFL legend and Minnesota celebrity. Pavo will always know to say "Mr. Vice President" should we again cross paths with Walter Mondale.

Disclaimer: I have not decided if I think there should be an exception to the appropriate ways to address heads of state if those heads of state are guilty of war crimes, habitually disregard the Constitution, and were never legitimately elected to office. My friend Angelo has taught his 3-year-old son a great joke. If someone is being mean or rude, the little kid says "He's a real dick...[pause] cheney." That's pretty funny.

Tuesday, October 30, 2007

The Politics of Parenting?

Today we were officially accepted to the stem cell donor program for when Pavo is born. I am very excited about this for a few reasons. First, sticking it in the Current Occupant's eye is one of my favorite pastimes. Second, several of Pavo's great-grandparents have died from diseases that could potentially be treated or cured with stem cells in the future. Third, and most importantly, there seems to me no greater way to start one's little life than by giving back to the world community.

All this has got me thinking about the political significance of being a parent. Of raising a socially conscious child who is empathetic and caring and kind and unafraid to stand up for what's right. Of guiding that child to become an adult who is giving and committed to improving his community and world. Someone who understands that one's life should be spent working to make the world better in real ways, however he should choose to do that. Of raising a boy who becomes a man that respects women; who is in touch with his emotions and unafraid to talk about feelings. These are, of course, daunting challenges in a society that generally devalues these principles but I am excited about facing them.

When I first got pregnant, I giggled to myself about how this child could be my one small contribution to counteract those children who are being raised in the Bible Belt to fear and to hate and who will likely eventually vote for candidates who support curtailing individual rights and civil liberties. My child's vote in 18+ years will cancel out one of those votes.

Maybe I am thinking too much and too deep about the day-to-day of parenting. I'm sure some people would laugh at these ideas and ideals as unrealistic in the face of sleepless nights, endless diapering, and constant feedings. So, probably the political campaign will start out slowly and we will aim to master the sucking reflex before becoming a true revolutionary, but the stem cells are a good start.

Saturday, October 27, 2007

Baby Bath

I have a wicked cold. I blame it on the flu shot they (the medical profession) made me get last week. My usual Rx of copious amounts of Nyquil and Dayquil is off limits to me, so I have been turning to alternative remedies like Vicks Vaporub and now, Johnson & Johnson's Soothing Vapor Bath. It may be an addiction to menthol, but there are worse things in the world. I just noticed that the label of the Vapor Bath says "Comforts Babies with Colds."

I just know my wife would have a lot to say about that.

Friday, October 26, 2007

License to Ill

I was admitted to practice law today in Minnesota. After that, I went with my family to W.A. Frost for a delicious lunch. Then I laid on my left side for awhile. Now we are going to my boss' house for a bonfire and what's sure to be great food. It's been a busy day, so I have not had time to actually practice law yet. Even though I could. And I can. Whenever I want. Wherever I want (within Minnesota). Boo-ya.

Thursday, October 25, 2007

Innocent Until Proven Innocent 20 years later

I am really happy that this is on the homepage of cnn.com right now.

http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/law/10/25/innocence.project/index.html

Now I'll be waiting for one on felon disenfranchisement. I hope the guy in this story is really excited to vote in '08, and that he will move to Florida in order to cast that vote.

Tuesday, October 23, 2007

The Monday Report

When I first announced this pavo-in-the-roaster, I promised that this blog would not turn into a baby blog. For the most part, until the past few posts, I think I've done a pretty good job, but now I go to the doctor every Monday and my whole week is centered around how the appointment went and anticipating the next one. In short, yesterday's appointment was good. J. scored 8/8 on his first "test" (meaning he is in great condition) and my BP was slightly lower (meaning J. and I are responding well to the 40 hour work week and lounging on my left side.) So, may be able to avoid bouts of tears in the car, at least until next Monday. I feel calm and good.

In other news, here are some more things going on:
  • On Friday, I will officially be admitted to practice law in Minnesota. It's an "official" session of the Minnesota Supreme Court. Very very.
  • Yesterday was the National Day of Protest Against Police Brutality. I was preparing for a hearing most of the day, then went to the doctor, and then went out for Mexican food. I was not involved in the protest. My life has changed a lot.
  • Some random Chinese girl asked me to be her friend on Facebook. It's my first SPAM friend invitation on Facebook. I looked at her profile and all of her other friends are in Sweden and Norway and have the last name Lund. I rejected her offer because that is creepy, for a number of reasons.

Friday, October 19, 2007

Crying in the Car

Crying in the car is a weird thing. It's something I've been doing pretty frequently recently. Pent up worry for myself and J. after a day of work where there isn't much time to be thinking about my own life is released once I am safe in the confines of my car. Cars feel like private places; a little box where no one can reach me. Where I can put on my music and cry until I feel better. The strange part, though, is that cars are really not very private. From a 4th Amendment standpoint, the SCOTUS has conclusively determined that one does not have the same expectation of privacy in a vehicle as one has in her own home. But my home is a bigger box-- and so crying in it is a totally different experience. There is a place to wander and a lot of distractions. Of course, distractions can be good. But, for a good, hard cry that is uninterrupted and can get the endorphins really flowing, the car is a perfect place.

It's not often that I see other people crying in their cars. And when I do, I sometimes want to make eye-contact and let the person know that someone feels sympathy for their pain. But, what I really do is quickly turn away and try to speed up a little so the person can have their privacy. Yesterday at a stop light on a freeway ramp, I was wiping tears away from my eyes and the driver in the car next to me noticed. Middle-aged guy. WASP. Middle-class. Probably not in touch with his emotions. It was clear that he was uncomfortable and he revved that engine to get away as fast as he could once the light turned green. Which made me laugh. Which is good for my blood pressure.

Tuesday, October 16, 2007

Restrictions

At my doctor appointment yesterday, my blood pressure was up a little- again. This is the reason I am restricted from exercise. Apparently, when BP goes up in pregnancy, exercise makes it worse, not better. Pretty strange phenomenon for the MD to say "hey, your blood pressure is a little high...quit working out and spend more time laying down!"

Because it was up again yesterday, I am now restricted to working only 40 hours a week. I saw a different doctor yesterday (mine was out of the office) and I think she was a bit of an alarmist because when I told her I was frustrated by my BP continuing to raise inexplicably, she at first just suggested extra rest, especially on my left side, and then, in an off-the-cuff sort of way, she said "bed rest." Which means no work. Or getting up. At all. Uhhh....what? No. Actually not an option, absent a true medical emergency. I feel fine and have none of the other red flags associated with high blood pressure in pregnancy (headaches, blurry vision, abnormal blood tests). So, after a brief breakdown in which I described having the bank foreclose on our house and bringing Pavo home to a cardboard box, the substitute MD backed off and suggested dropping from 50 hours a week to 40 hours a week. Ok, that's doable. I have a phone call placed to my main MD and am waiting for a call back so we can discuss how maybe she needs to make a note in my chart that alarmist doctors ought to tone it down a little when I'm on the table.

So, today I worked only from 8am-4pm. It was really weird, and I felt almost guilty leaving so early, even though I know it's the responsible decision, and it is totally ok with my boss. I feel lucky that I work for a place that is understanding and values me as a whole person, not just for the money I bring in. When I told my boss about my new restrictions, he said it's important to take are of myself, do whatever I need to do, and that I have a whole career ahead of me to worry about "making" enough hours. Small business life is a good life.

I am under strict orders to spend as much time with my feet up (and preferably laying on my left side) as possible. And alternating between Law and Order and the Simpsons. Ok, not the last part. Eduardo has been great and is cooking me food with no salt and giving me lots of head-rubs. My mom comes to my appointments with me so that I have someone to keep me grounded when my worry gets the best of me and I envision cardboard box homes.

It's unclear what will happen next. I'm at about 34 weeks and it's possible that, if my BP goes up much more or if I develop any other complications associated with it, they could possibly induce at week 37 or so? Or, I guess whenever they decide it's "time." In any case, even if Pavo was born this very night, chances are he would be just fine--34 weeks would be early, but not generally very problematic. Please cross fingers for after November 10th- it would be really lame to not be able to attend my own baby shower or to tell the hospital staff "Sorry, we can't take him home; the baby shower isn't until November 10th so we won't have a car seat until then..."

Sunday, October 14, 2007

Bon Jovi 4ever



Last night I watched the first few minutes of Saturday Night Live before falling asleep. Jon Bon Jovi was the host. I started to think, it's really quite amazing that he is still famous. Not to discount his talent (who doesn't love Livin' On a Prayer?) but I remember being a little kid and knowing that Bon Jovi was cool because my older girl cousins had posters of the band in their rooms. They also had posters of Nelson (those 2 long haired blond boys) and Milli Vanilli (those 2 long haired black boys).
Not even the 80s radio stations still play Nelson or Milli Vanilli, but Bon Jovi's 80s hits are like classic anthems now, and not only that, the band continues to gets playtime on the radio (and on SNL) with their new music. What is it about Jon Bon Jovi that makes him continue to be successful rather than fall along the wayside of pop culture like Nelson? Did he cut his hair at just the right time? Is he really that much more talented? I currently tend to think of Bon Jovi as fitting in the same category as John Mellencamp or The Boss -- blue collar northeastern rock and roll; inspired by unions and factories; classic songs that I will always want to hear when they come on the radio. Even my mom likes Bon Jovi, and she's no fan of 80s music. He's come a long way from the days of long, ratty hair, and I think it's pretty impressive that he's way hotter now than he was back then.
Kudos, Bon Jovi... you've made it, I swear, woh-oh, livin' on a prayer.

Tuesday, October 9, 2007

On Being a Worrier

I don't generally think of myself as a worrier. I am able to leave work at work, and even when I am upset, my sleep is rarely disturbed. But somehow when the unknown, maybe scary thing has anything to do with anything medical, I become the world's biggest worrier. When my dad was having mysterious health issues a couple of years ago, I am almost embarrassed to say that I became functionally crippled-- I was so wrought with worry and fear that I couldn't do homework, my job, or pay attention to anything besides imagining the worst.

My dad, of course, is so wise about these things, and pointed out that worrying about the unknown is a huge waste of energy since "it" might turn out to be nothing; might as well save the worry for if and when you know there is a problem to worry about. While my worry about my dad turned out to be *almost* nothing, as do most worries about medical issues, any follow-ups or further testing doctors want to do make me a much less rational person than I normally consider myself to be.

At my doctor appointment yesterday, a couple of tests (regarding my health, not the baby's) came back slightly abnormal. As in, "just something to watch, nothing to worry about now." Um, sure, right. I am back to my worrying ways, and let me tell you that Web MD does nothing to help. Eduardo has kindly reassured me that everything will be fine, and pointed out all the women in this world that have babies every year who get little or no pre-natal care and come out alright. So, being a middle-class white woman living in one of the wealthier of these United States with some of the best doctors and pre-natal care in the world means that my chances of being* fine,* even if complications do arise, are better than the chances of most people in the world. This is a weird conundrum though- the better and more thorough the pre-natal care, the more likely a problem or potential problem is to "arise" since any, even slight abnormality will come to the doctor's attention. And make me worry.

One of my current and newly imposed "restrictions" is no more treadmilling until after Pavo is born. Not too many times in one's life where the M.D. recommends avoiding exercise. I'll try not to worry.

Saturday, October 6, 2007

A Pass

I passed the bar exam. Of course, not really a "surprise" but also not a given. The past couple of days have been pretty nerve wracking as I waited for the results to arrive. When I opened the envelope, my whole body was shaking like L.A. in an earthquake. I haven't had such a physical reaction to a situation in a very long time. Even after reading "I am pleased to inform you..." my body continued to shake for a good 10 minutes as I told Eduardo the news and called my bosses, family and a few friends to share the news. After repeating it several times, I seem to have calmed down (mostly).

So, this feels great. Just call me Esquire.

Friday, October 5, 2007

Weathering the Weather

While I have had some acquaintances express doubt about symptoms/side effects of pregnancy (such as forgetfulness, absentmindedness, and the need to rest frequently) let me tell you in no uncertain terms that feeling hot all of the time is one of the big ones. I was so looking forward to October for the brisk days and chilly nights so that I could get through a day or night without becoming totally sweaty and disgusting.

But not this October. 80 degrees today. I did not sign up for this and I do not like it one bit. This is Minnesota, for chrissake!

Word of wisdom to all friends living in L.A. or other hot climates: When and if you do decide to get knocked up, make sure the last trimester is not during the summer. Also, try to stay my friend so you can come visit Minnesota in January. You will love it, I promise.

Wednesday, October 3, 2007

A Little Wednesday Afternoon Rage

Just in case there was any doubt left regarding whether the Current Occupant had any goodness in his soul, we now have our answer:

www.cnn.com/2007/POLITICS/10/03/bush.veto/index.html

This is the worst part:

"The public can see that we're playing more political 'gotcha' than we are at really solving problems," said Rep. Todd Akin, R-Missouri, who said the legislation contained "all of these little hidden gizmos, among other things that we're going to provide health care to the children of illegal immigrants." ...

Democrats denied the bill would provide coverage to illegal immigrants."

1) Todd Akin is a moron. "Children of illegal immigrants" are often U.S. citizens with the same rights to be elected to the House of Representatives and make asinine comments on the House floor as he is. Even the ones that are here illegally did not choose to enter this country, and guess what, genius? Kids that have crossed the border illegally still get sick. While Akin may tell his constituents that the Rio Grande serves as a catch-all baptismal font to cleanse children of all childhood sickness, it just isn't true. They are still going to get ear infections and strep throat and the flu, and since they will be uninsured, guess what happens then, Mr. Akin? A trip to the Emergency Room. It will cost at least $500.00, probably more. And, do you think the family can pay for it? NO. Again, despite what Akin probably believes, wages are not that great for farm workers and the McDonalds kitchen staff. So, the buck is passed, and we all end up paying more for medical care to cover the costs.

2) Shame on you Democrats. In the face of such stupid and hateful remarks, it would have been a great opportunity to stand up and say: "No child should be uninsured, regardless of how they entered this country. Period."

3) "Hidden gizmos" doesn't mean anything. Missouri should be embarrassed. For a lot of reasons, but most especially today because they elected an idiot with no vocabulary to actually describe the underdeveloped and sophomoric thoughts he wishes to convey. Also, it must be noted that when spellchecking this entry, even blogger.com knows that "gizmos" is not a real word. I hereby endorse blogger.com to replace Todd Akin in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Monday, October 1, 2007

I Heart Con Law

I had a reminder last night of just what was so great about law school and why I will miss it. I watched an interview with Justice Thomas on 60 Minutes. It reminded me that the days are gone when it was a preferred use of my time to sit around drinking coffee, smoking cigarettes, and discussing the philosophies of Supreme Court Justices. Or dissecting one of Justice Thomas's less-than-stellar concurrences over pancakes. While I love talking politics, there is really not much I love more than a close read and discussion of an important SCOTUS opinion and trying to figure out why the Justices lined up like they did. Yeah, lame, I know. So you can see why I am feeling sad that law school is no more.

My job is great, but none of my clients know who Clarence Thomas is, let alone want to spend a couple of hours chatting about his hypocritical philosophy. To whom do I turn? Off hand, my dad is a lawyer who reads too many periodicals to count and my wife is a law student, so they seems like pretty good options to re-create the glory days of law school (minus the stress and final exams).

Interesting points about the Thomas interview. He has a booming, commanding voice that makes you want to listen closer -- too bad he never speaks in oral arguments. When asked about Anita Hill, he stuck by describing it as a high-tech lynching and then said that it paved the way for the witch hunt-like investigation into Bill Clinton's antics some years later. Huh. I guess they are similar in some ways, and I was impressed that Thomas, who usually prefers unfair characterizations of all Democrats and liberals, would make those connections and relate himself to Bill Clinton. Of course, the big difference is that Clinton came clean and admitted what he did, while Thomas stands by his denials. And that Bill Clinton is my hero, and Clarence Thomas is not.

Finally, while Thomas answered some questions evasively or with a "Oh, come on, that's silly" (I mean, if it's that silly, just answer the damn question and let's move on...), he was overall very well-spoken, articulate, and intelligent-sounding. I don't say that because I'm necessarily surprised by it, but it is just another reason I am so fascinated by the SCOTUS. Even the guy that is considered by many to be the dumbest, least-qualified guy on the High Court is eloquent and probably smarter than most people in the world. Except Bill Clinton. Nobody is smarter than him.

Please note that Clarence Thomas drives a motor home. I wonder if he won it on The Price is Right.

Thursday, September 27, 2007

The Day Tyra Went Political

Hello, my name is Kristina and I am addicted to ANTM. Last night, besides the other, more standard laugh-out-loud moments (cat fight between two brown girls from the "inner city" about whether an exotic dancer could really be America's Next Top Model and holier-than-thou attitude from Yale girl who looks like a horse), I was so amused by Tyra's blossoming social conscience.

Not only do the girls have to go around LA in a "green" vehicle made out of recycled tires and cardboard boxes and glitter, but at panel Tyra announced that smoking would be prohibited. Ha-ha! (like how Nelson says it on the Simpsons.)

Poor little models, no more smoking for 12 whole weeks. By the end of the season, I expect they will all be "plus size" models weighing in at 125 lbs or more. Heffers. Plus, the smoking ban should make for some more good cat fights among the little girls in withdrawal. Let's see how smarty pants Yale girl keeps her composure when she isn't allowed to puff away as she recites Ginsberg and performs coffee shop psychoanalysis on all her less-than-Ivy-league competitors.

I hope someone drops out of the competition because she just loves smoking more than she loves Miss Jay. That would be classic.

Thursday, September 20, 2007

Blatant Lying for No Reason

Most of us learned at an early age that lying is bad. Children of divorce, I think, are more tempted to lie because it's less likely they'll get caught. You know, sometimes if Mom and Dad don't talk that much, lying is sort of a cinch, like in this precious gem of a moment: Dad brings 4-year-old Kristina to Montessori School. During the day, friend Kristina steals beautiful green plastic headband from the other Christina at Montessori School and hides it in her cubby. Mom picks Kristina up from Montessori School and asks where she got beautiful green plastic headband. Straight-faced, lying, 4-year-old Kristina answers "Dad bought it for me." See? It's so easy. Never mind that I accidentally broke the headband and then had to come clean that it wasn't mine and we had to buy other Christina a new headband. These are those teaching/learning childhood moments when most of us learned that, as a general rule, lying is bad.

That's not to say that all lying is bad. There are 3 kinds of lying that I usually think are OK:
  1. White Lies. After I have this Pavo in November, I will probably look like shit for several days/weeks. It's OK if you tell me I look beautiful and glowing.
  2. Exaggerating. Especially when it comes to telling or re-telling a story. Double especially when telling a story over cocktails. This is what makes life funny.
  3. Puffing. Puffing is a sort-of legal term of art. Making your case sound better than it is while negotiating with the other side. Maybe this isn't really ok but in my world it is; I do it all day long.

But here's what's not ok. Blatant lying for no good reason. Here's the deal: if a person has personal time saved up at work for either sick or vacation, why not just take those couple of days you want off and enjoy them? Why on earth would you invent some elaborate story about having to stay home with a sick kid (who is 14 years old and perfectly capable of staying home alone) and then say you had to take him to the ER in the middle of the night for a throat culture? This lie is unnecessarily and suspiciously elaborate, not to mention just plain old unnecessary and stupid. Take the day off. Enjoy. Don't fucking lie to everyone in your office.

Obviously this person didn't go to Montessori School and learn at age 4 that blatant lies for no reason usually backfire and make you look like a total idiot. This person clearly needs some remedial lessons with a beautiful green plastic headband taking center stage.

Sunday, September 16, 2007

The Upside of Earth's Demise

This morning I read a "blurb" (it wasn't really a complete article, just small box of text with a picture) in the Star Tribune about a new portion of the Arctic that has melted. I expected the text to be something about higher ocean temperatures, carbon footprints, and what will happen if the polar ice caps keep melting at this rate (it's bad, they say, very very bad).

However, as I began to read the blurb, I was surprised and somewhat disturbed to discover the true subject matter -- the potential for more widespread and cheaper trading due to decreased transportation costs if this portion of the Arctic stays melted! Glory of glories! While dozens of U.S. cities will be flooded and uninhabitable, at least it will be easier to to get lead-infested toys from China to the sad American children who have been orphaned by floods and hurricanes! There's always a silver lining.

I'm not even much of an environmentalist. Sure, I turn lights out when I leave the room, I recycle (mostly), and I like to buy organic and locally grown produce when feasible, but it's not my soapbox. Al Gore and Leo (and more recently Paris Hilton) have helped me come around a bit more to acknowledge that environmentalism is less remote of a cause than I once considered it. Environmentalists used to irritate me in the way that animal rights activists still do* -- "Is that really the best cause you can come up with? In the face of vast and immediate human suffering, is this really what you care about the most?" I have come a long way and am no longer bugged by environmentalism**, and have learned some things about how the things I am concerned about (poverty, disease, children dying from easily preventable illnesses, basic human rights) are related to efforts undertaken to reverse the course we have charted for Earth.

Reading this piece in the Star Tribune, I almost felt pangs of environmentalist in me. At first, I could not believe what I was reading...it seemed like something that would be on Weekend Update. "Fear not! Researchers have determined that, even if we are unable to halt or reverse global warming, it's ok because we'll be able to get more crappy shit from China at even cheaper prices!" Now, I feel both angry and saddened-- angry because I know some morons that read that piece will now actually believe there is an upside to global warming the melting of the Arctic and saddened because the fact that such an article was even written means that some people have given up altogether on trying to stop and/or undo the human contribution to global warming and have started to seriously consider ways humans can make our lives even easier once there is no ice left on the planet.

While I obviously don't object to this being in the newspaper (for me, 1st Amendment still trumps environmentalism), I do hope this won't actually be the way that the conversation about protecting the earth starts to turn. "Let's do what we can, but if that doesn't work, 3 cheers for Dora the Explorer with her little poisonous backpack on sale half-price at Walmart!" Somehow that slogan just doesn't flow as well as "Think Globally, Act Locally (or Watershed or whatever.)


*Animal rights activists should not come to my house. There are some very yippy dogs that live next door that woke me up at 7 a.m. this morning. They are lucky to still be alive.

**I am still bugged by some environmentalists. For example, people that want me to waste 5 gallons of water to fully wash out a small plastic peanut butter jar so that it can be recycled or people that judge me for throwing a piece of notebook paper in the garbage.

Friday, September 14, 2007

Games Fetuses Play

Every day Pavo is getting feistier. He is now pretty regularly active in the evening hours, kicking and punching and maybe somersaulting away as I try to relax after dinner. So, Eduardo and I have taken to playing a "game." We poke the side of my belly where we think one of Pavo's arms or legs is. And, then, sometimes, Pavo kicks back right in the spot where we poked. Awww...

It's sort of the in utero version of hide and seek. Of course it's endearing and kind of cool that we are able to "communicate" with him like this, although hopefully once he makes his grand appearance our communications will no longer be confined to poking and kicking. Unless he acts like a total little baby and needs a good poke to get it out of his system.

Tuesday, September 11, 2007

a little more digging...

I found a lab in Florida that will work with me to donate these stem cells. They send the equipment and a courier to the hospital to pick up the donation! I have to fill out a bunch of paperwork and get the M.D. to sign off on it, but hope has been restored on the stem cell donation front. Hallelujah!

A Couple of Bummers

1) It appears I have lost the contest of all contests. The phone call should have come yesterday and alas, mine remained silent. A deafening, mourning silence. I will have to figure out another way to have lunch with my beloved Clintons. Isn't there some sort of Make a Wish foundation for people who aren't sick, but just really want something really badly?

2) Yesterday I asked my doctor about donating the cord blood stem cells to research so that Mr. Impending Arrival could begin his life by a) giving something back to the world and b) "sticking in Bush's eye from the moment he is born" -credit to Sylia Wilson for quote. Disappointingly, they are no longer collecting stem cells for donation in Minnesota because the U of MN has enough stem cells and doesn't need any more right now! On one hand this is good and encouraging news- to know that one of the top research universities in the world is stocked with plentiful stem cells for research purposes is great. But, it is sad that my great idea to bring the baby into the world chock full of hope for humanity and a political agenda has been foiled.

I bet if I would have won that lunch with Hillary and Bill, they would have known what to do about this stem cell cord blood conundrum. Any ideas?

Sunday, September 9, 2007

Kick Off

I love football. I love the Vikings (both of Minnesota and of Erik the Red). Now it's football season and kick off is about to happen. It's a brisk day, utterly appropriate for the beginning of football season. And I am happy.

Thursday, September 6, 2007

Fingers Crossed Everybody!

I need lots of luck and good thoughts sent my way for the next few days--until Tuesday, to be precise. I have entered what is, for me, the contest of all contests. The grand prize is lunch with Bill and Hillary. While this should sound like a cool prize to anyone with even a partial brain (I mean, even if you disagree with them or don't love them, anyone should be able to appreciate how interesting sitting down at the table with them would be), for me it is bigger than just "cool."

Meeting the Clintons in an intimate setting (not like that) has been a dream of mine for a long time. While I realize the possibility is very remote that I would actually win this contest, never before has it even been within the realm of possibilities to have lunch with the Clintons. And now it is. So, humor me and send lots of luck vibes to be through Tuesday. If I win, and you can prove that the luck you sent me helped me win, I might even bring you as my guest.

Wednesday, September 5, 2007

A dream is not a wish your heart makes...

...at least I hope it isn't!

I've been told and I've read that the further a pregnancy progresses, the more vivid the dreams become. But my dream last night was strange, even for me.

I dreamed that the father of my child was Steven Tyler. Of Aerosmith. In the dream, it wasn't just a one night stand -- S.T. and I weren't a couple, but we had an on-again, off-again thing and were good friends ready to raise a child together. Uhhhh.....wtf? I am not even a big fan of Aerosmith. If I heard "Crazy" or "Janie's Got a Gun" on the radio, I wouldn't turn the songs off, but neither would it ever occur to me to purchase an Aerosmith album. I wouldn't be surprised at all if I had dreamed that Bill Clinton or Keith Olbermann or even John Lennon was the father, but Steven Tyler?!

So far I have come up with a few possible explanations for why my subconscious would want Steven Tyler to be my baby daddy-

  • a hope that my child will be artistic or musically inclined?
  • my recent viewing of "E True Hollywood Story: Rock Star Wives"?
  • a concern that my child's lips won't be full enough? (hardly likely, and the least of my concerns! Between Eduardo's and my lips, I am confident that baby will have a lovely mouth...)
  • a refusal to acknowledge that, between being an attorney, a wife, a homeowner, and a mom, it is extremely unlikely that I will ever be a rock star groupie that drives across America following bands on tour? (not a goal that I have ever had, but nevertheless a "possibility" that seems more remote now than it might have 5 years ago...)

Other interpretations of this dream are welcome. Especially if Steven Tyler happens to be reading this.

Thursday, August 30, 2007

Stems and Cells

I could go on and on about them. Why the research is so important. Grandparents having died from various cancers and Alzheimer's. Knowing too many people with M.S. (did you know that the majority of U.S. cases are clustered around the banks of the Mississippi, from Minnesota all the way down to NOLA?)

A woman I work with is going through treatment for breast cancer. She is amazing and strong and phenomenal. Today, after radiation, she told me that the radiation clinic, there was an 18-month-old baby undergoing radiation. He was sedated so as to keep him still and unaware. His parents couldn't come in the room to be with him because, well, it's radiation.

I simply can't wrap my head around how unfair life can be. Cancer sucks, obvi, but it is just beyond reprehensibly wrong that a little child should have to suffer through cancer and treatment. I also cannot imagine how someone could see a child and his family having to go through such an ordeal, and still oppose stem cell research.

I called my kid Stem Cell before we knew he 1) was viable; 2) was a real little boy; and 3) had a name. I hear that stem cells are also found in the blood from umbilical cords. I wonder if one can donate that to research? Maybe that could be his first political act (I've been prohibited from placing him in a baby carrier and bringing him to the September 2008 RNC protests). If I can figure out how to donate cord blood, that would be a cool and close second to civil disobedience. And would start him out well- one tiny little brown footstep forward...

Thursday, August 23, 2007

Bumper Morons

Sitting in traffic on the way home from work tonight, I saw one of the most infuriating yet stupidest bumper stickers I have ever seen. It said "Bad Liberal! No Welfare!" What an asinine statement "no welfare" is. Obviously, the poster of sticker means to oppose all government assistance to the poor which to me indicates that he lacks any empathy at all, and probably should be isolated and studied to determine what factors can lead a human being who is born innocent and without disdain can morph into a being that cannot understand that even poor children deserve to eat.

But I digress. Mostly, this bumper sticker is stupid because "No welfare" sounds like the poster advocates general mayhem and suffering. I wanted to pull up next to the driver and say "So, no welfare? Does that include the general welfare, buddy? Because the text of the U.S. Constitution empowers Congress to tax and spend for the general welfare! So I guess somebody thought that at least some welfare was a good idea?! Huh? Huh?! What do you think about that, you fucking moron!?"

As this nerdy rage built slowly in my chest, a Toyota Prius pulled up next to me. On it's bumper was a "What Would Wellstone Do?" bumper sticker. Suddenly my blood cooled. I guess I don't know what Wellstone would have done in this particular situation, but I was calmed by the reality that there are far more Prius-driving, Wellstone-loving liberals in these parts than there are morons that have taken up an opposition the general welfare.

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

SVU Can't Fool Me

Last night I was watching an old re-run of Law & Order: SVU (yeah, yeah, I know that's what I do most nights). I'm not sure of the season but Olivia still had very short hair, Cabot the blond was still the A.D.A., but Ice-T had already joined the cast. Any ideas as to what season that would be?

Regardless, the case was the A.D.A. trying 3 women for raping a male stripper just after New York's rape law changed to allow the possibility of men being victims of sexual assault. Ok, fine. Interesting. Classic SVU.

Except, one of the 3 defendants was none other than...CASEY NOVAK! Yes, that's right, the very same red-head-turned-blond actress who currently plays A.D.A. Novak on SVU was the perp last night! How can it be? Of course, she didn't play Casey Novak in last night's episode, but instead was a day trader on Wall Street who liked to handcuff and assault men. But still, the SAME actress? They must have been pretty impressed with her performance as a guest star to offer her a full-time job. Or, maybe Elliot lost his temper and smacked her across the face, and she threatened to sue unless she was added as a regular to the show.

In any case, I am flabbergasted that SVU was so careless as to recycle actresses and actors on this occasion, and now I am wondering if this happens often in the Law & Order franchise. I am going to be watching my daily dose of L & O with a new skepticism, just waiting for that thug from Season 1 to appear as a distinguished forensic psychiatrist in Season 5. They will not fool me.

Friday, August 17, 2007

That Time of Year Already?

This morning when I went out to my car, it felt like fall. Brisk. No humidity. I anticipate more summer before it's really fall, but I have to say I am ready. This summer has been too hot, and too full of test-taking. So a new season is in order for me.

I really love the Fall. It's always a strangely nostalgic time for me. The brisk mornings remind me of going out to my first car and driving to high school, picking up a couple friends on the way, so we could begin our day of bitching about high school jerks as early as possible. Autumn evenings remind me of sitting in my room for hours on the phone with Sarah or Jamie in high school, and of that time in my life when emotions were never more amplified; elation, tragedy, melodrama. Looking back, much of it was absurd, but it's far enough away now that I have developed some affection for those days of emotion-squared. Just as I am writing this, the forces of nostalgia envelope me further as the girl working a few doors down from me has put on Jewel's "Pieces of You." Christ, Jewel was even more melodramatic than we were!

The end of August also always makes me miss college- flying back to L.A. to catch up with those people I hadn't seen all summer. Each time a new school year started promised new adventures in political idealism, plenty of late night revelations while smoking, and a good many party pictures that, as the weeks went on, became indistinguishable from the pictures the Saturday before.

I guess it makes sense that Fall always makes me look back. It's a season of new beginnings (at least for students) and of endings (the end of the summer, the end of green, the end of long days with seemingly endless sunshine).

With just one cool morning getting all these thoughts brewing in me, I have a feeling this Fall is going to be even more nostalgic for me than most--so many things are changing in my life right now, and while they are exciting, it's also scary. The unknown can make looking back comfortable and comforting. I think I'm lucky because a lot of those people that were in my life during those times I get nostalgic about are still part of my life now, and that familiarity makes these big changes a little less scary and a little less likely to make me revert to the melodrama of high school. So, in spite of myself, even though Jewel might still write music and put out lame CDs, I don't buy them anymore, even when crisp mornings make me feel nostalgic.

Thursday, August 16, 2007

Why People Shouldn't Raise Children in the Suburbs

The mom brings the 5-year-old daughter to see "Hairspray" in the movie theater. Mother and daughter enjoy happy-go-lucky musical that takes place during segregation. After movie, daughter asks mother: "Do we have negro days, too?"

A part of me thinks this story is funny. A perfectly innocent question from a small child who doesn't understand what any of it means.

On the other hand, it's also disturbing. When I taught pre-school in the heart of Southwest Minneapolis, my 3-year-olds could tell you who Martin Luther King, Jr. was and they had a general idea of why he was important and celebrated. They were at least aware of the time in America when little white children and little brown children were not allowed to play together or go to school together and they knew that was a bad thing.

This is why children should be raised in the city. And why they should go to pre-school. There are lots of holidays in pre-school, including the celebration of Flag Day, but we don't have negro days in pre-school.

Saturday, August 11, 2007

The Rain and Bible School

I think this biblical times book I'm reading is going to my head. Tonight, finally, Minneapolis is having a good, hard, soaking rain. It has been months. Eduardo commented that it would be a pleasant change to not have to water our yard every day, at least for awhile. I stood at the door and said "Finally the rains have come. " Um, totally a biblical thing to say. At least I didn't follow it up with "Our crops and herds will now be well nourished. El has looked upon us with favor." Then we would know for sure that I had lost it.

I am about half done with The Red Tent and I really like it. Having attended Sunday school all while I grew up, I am quite well-versed in the Old Testament stories. Throughout my childhood, I even participated in several "productions" of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. You wish I would post the photos. Not going to happen.

Anyway, a dramatization of the details of these familiar Old Testament stories is fascinating. And strangely, while I knew that Joseph was Jacob's favorite son out of his 12 sons and that is why Jacob gave him the fancy coat and made Joseph's brothers want to kill him, I had no idea that Joseph had a sister who didn't want to kill him, or that these 12 sons of Jacob came from 4 different mothers, all of whom were sisters and married to Jacob. I guess that part was too scandalous for Sunday school?

But now the rains have come and now I know the whole story. Jacob was a total player.

Tuesday, August 7, 2007

Moment of Yawning

Today I was involved in a conversation that ended up making me seem like I am heartless. But I am not, I swear. See what you think.

Me: Are you going to your block party tonight?

Other: Yes, and there's going to be a moment of silence for the victims of the 35W disaster at 6:05 followed by church bells at 6:06.

Me: YAWN (spoken, and exaggerated)

Other: Um, well, I think that's appropriate. I mean, people died.

Me: Yeah, but there's already been a statewide moment of silence. Multiple moments of silence within a week seems silly.

I am silent lots of moments each day. So? Moments of silence are one of those exercises in *civility* that I find boring and meaningless. It's sort of like going to visit a grave. I think my grandma doesn't like it that I never go to my grandpa's grave. But the thing is, that's not how I mourn and it's not how I remember him. I do not associate anyone's grave with the actual person. I remember and honor my grandpa when I re-read a book by Mark Twain or I look at the dollhouse he made for me with his own hands when I was a little girl. Visiting his grave doesn't bring me closer to his memory.

Likewise, an ordered moment of silence doesn't seem to me a great sign of respect or mourning for anyone. Probably a lot of people are just silent because it would be weird to talk, and they aren't thinking about the dead people, but about the bills they have to pay, or what they're going to eat from the bbq at their block party.

More appropriate than a moment of silence would be a moment of discussion regarding crumbling infrastructure in this country and why people keep voting for leaders who prioritize low taxes, rather than safety and social responsibility.

But, for future reference, it is apparently inappropriate to say and feign "YAAWWN" when someone mentions a scheduled moment of silence for dead people.

*As an aside, I have a sneaking suspicion that my son's first word is going to be a sassy, sarcastic "yawn" to someone who says something boring or stupid. We will be so proud.

Sunday, August 5, 2007

Learning to Read Again

Or, better said, learning to enjoy to read again. The past 3 years have been all about case law bound in volumes weighing between 8 and 20 lbs. While sometimes enlightening, sometimes infuriating, and often times boring, "fun" is not a word I would use to describe reading for law school.

It's slightly unsettling to think that come September, my bookshelves will not be reloaded with another set of law books. It's been a long time since I have been a true non-student with time to read for pleasure. The law school years have been particularly void of reading books simply because I want to read. I felt like the free time I did have during law school was better spent with my family, using my unlimited Verizon minutes, or making sure I truly understood the law by watching Law and Order.

But now, a new world: no note-taking; no outlining; no papers. Last night, a friend of my mom's loaned me a book called The Red Tent. It's a fictional account of the little-known Old Testament character Dinah, daughter of Jacob and sister of Joseph and his amazing technicolor dream coat. Not something I would ever be likely to buy or think to choose, but after the first several pages, something that has engrossed me. I will wait until I finish to decide whether to recommend it.

In my "new life," I am going to once again be someone that reads for pleasure. So, what's out there? Any suggestions for books or authors? The more random the better. Keep 'em coming.

Thursday, August 2, 2007

Oh yeah, also...

We are fine. The whole Lund - Alcantara - Kemmer extended family was not on or near the bridge.

It was, however, very weird to not be able to use my cell phone for several hours. Just when I was irritated that I pay $33.33 per month for a land line I never use, all of a sudden it seemed very worth it. You've got me, Comcast.

Telling the Truth

Maybe it's too early to start saying anything about the bridge collapse in my beloved city other than "So terrible." But I'm going to say something anyway. In all the news reports, especially in the national news, the story goes something like this: "A bridge crossing the Mississippi River on a thoroughfare interstate through downtown Minneapolis collapsed at 6:05pm, at the height of rush hour." Tragic and true, except that, in Minneapolis, 6:05pm is not the height of rush hour.

6pm sounds like rush hour. And on the coasts it is, I'm pretty sure. But here in the Twin Cities, we like to work from 7:00am-4:00pm. 4:30 max. Especially in the summer. In fact, many offices close at noon on Fridays in the summer because people have lakes to go to and precious few months to enjoy them. Ask anyone in Minneapolis-- the rush hours are from 6:30am-8:00am and from 3:30pm-5:30pm.

Here's an example. Yesterday I left work at 5:00pm and it took me 45 minutes to get home. Today I left work at 6:00pm and it took me 20 minutes to get home. Hence, 6:00pm is not rush hour.

The point of this is, if the 35W bridge would have collapsed an hour or two earlier, I think the outcome would have been even more dire. The fact of the matter is that, on a hot summer afternoon, any Minnesotan will sell his soul to get out of the office by 4:30pm and to take his rightful place basking in the sun near a lake. By 6:00pm, only the the restaurant and bar workers, the baseball fans, and the new lawyers are still driving in downtown Minneapolis.

This whole writing is maybe trite. It isn't meant to make light of the situation. In fact, I love Minneapolis like a dear friend and am extremely loyal to it. Just ask anyone with whom I went to college. I am chock full of Minneapolis love and trivia. So when Minneapolis gets hurt, the loyal friend in me comes out blazing. One of the things I love about Minneapolis is how people know how to balance life and work-- we know that on a beautiful summer afternoon, it's better to get the hell out of work far before 6:00pm. So, it's from this love that the truth-telling stems. 6:00pm is not rush hour, and I think this sad situation would be even more tragic had the bridge collapsed at 4:30. There you have it.

Thursday, July 26, 2007

Over.

The B.E. is over. It's out of my hands-- are you really surprised that I'm even more nervous now, in some ways? I don't like things being out of my hands. Cest la vie. Nothing to do about it.

Eduardo and I are leaving for a few days of relaxation up at Mille Lacs. I have been to a lot of countries and 4 continents, but somehow, I have never been more excited for a trip than for this one coming up in a couple hours.

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Here's something that yanks my chain...

Cars and trucks that switch lanes in a tunnel! Can't they see the solid white lines? Or, more importantly, the lack of a shoulder on the road or anywhere for the little car those lane-switchers might run off the road when the switch lanes? Except it wouldn't be off the road- it would be into a wall in a tunnel. That is danger. Every time I see someone switch lanes in a tunnel (which is quite often now that I drive on 394 almost daily), I want to roll down my window and shout: "Don't you know about Princess Diana!"

BUT, here is something that makes my chain happy: Bar exam is officially HALF over. And those essays weren't half-bad either. The MPT, which I hate the most, was tolerable and 4/6 other essays were on these topics: Criminal Law, Constitutional Law, Torts, and Evidence. If you are reading this blog, you probably know me well enough so that I don't really need to explain how fucking awesome that is, considering what some of the other possible topics COULD have been.

One more day of law and then it's lake lake lake. There are no tunnels on the way up to the lake.

Friday, July 20, 2007

The verdict it in

And good Sarah was right. She says it's because the wife is always right. Looks like the rest of you suckers owe ME a drink.

Other good news is that the baby has all his organs and they all seem to be functioning properly. The technician described his kidneys as "vague" which is a bizarre adjective in my opinion, but I'm assured this just means harder to visualize. Don't worry- he has kidneys. And a liver, which, being from this family, he certainly will need.

This was a nice morning, a welcome break from studying but now it's back to the books. I will start thinking about names and how one goes about raising up a kind, gentle, sensitive, loving, peaceful man next week.

Thursday, July 19, 2007

From the Frontlines

1) I am still alive.

2) Kind of.

3) The B.E. is T-5 days away.

4) I have worn the same tank top and leisure pants every day for the past week. This is unlikely to change any time soon.

5) I don't answer my phone or return calls. I will in T-6 days.

6) A silver lining: at least the B.E. is organized by my least favorite to my "most favorite." First the multistate performance test which is boring, lame, and not actually a reflection of what actual law practice is as it purports to be. Second are the essays which are ok, as long as they test the subjects with which I am more comfortable. Last is the multistate exam, 200 multiple choice questions. Not like I love doing them, but there is a certain satisfaction in eliminating wrong answers and filling in bubbles. I always eat my food from least favorite to most because then I've saved the best for last. I guess the law examiners know my style.

7) We find out tomorrow if Pavo is a girl turkey or boy turkey.

Thursday, July 12, 2007

What's funny

Is when a person, in absolute seriousness, and in the year 2007, says to a new mom that "A great way to save time is to buy pre-sliced bread."

Yeah, and running water is also a great way to save time, moron. Who the hell doesn't buy pre-sliced bread?

New Day

Well, it went out with a wimper. My own wimpers, actually. Can't really explain why, but yesterday was my mini-breakdown day. Hopefully the only one. But today I woke up feeling calmer, ready to spend the next 12 days buckled down and memorizing law. And it's ok. Know why? Because it's only 12 days. 12 days. At this time in 2 weeks, I will be locking up the doors in Minneapolis and heading north on 169 to my beautiful lake. And I will have taken and passed the bar exam.

I was in a solitary mood yesterday so not much on answering my phone, but thank you to everyone that called. That made me happy. 1st Prize for birthday messages goes to Ramire. I saved the message. If you heard it you would know why.

12 days.

Wednesday, July 11, 2007

B.D., no B.E.



Today is my birthday. Usually one of my favorite days of the year surrounded by favorite people and enjoying favorite restaurants and bars.




Not this year. Besides the fact that most of my family is out of town and my husband works tonight, I'm not convinced I could actually enjoy any outings anyway. This is because the bar exam is now only 13 days away, and I am on edge. I feel like Tweak from South Park. (See little kid on the right).


If you're unfamiliar, Tweak is the little kid that's always hopped up on coffee and has inappropriately strong reactions to normal stimuli, primarily manifested by emitting short, alarmed shrieks. That is me now. The fact of the matter is, no matter how much I study, there is not enough time to learn all of what I "should" know. I am actually not that afraid of failing. I don't think I will. And I am not stressed out so much that I am unable to sleep or eat (God forbid). But I do have this sort of tweaked out edge about me. Talking a bit too fast and too loud. Jerky movements. Eyes wide and brow furrowed. A general sort of unpleasantness that I don't think will lift until I am safe at Lake Mille Lacs on July 26.


So, it's ok that this birthday is likely going to be less celebratory than most. I think I will do some practice questions, maybe write a practice essay, and then watch a little South Park. At this point, only Tweak really understands.

Thursday, July 5, 2007

Pardon Me?

I've been thinking about this controversy over Bush commuting Scooter Libby's sentence. The Democrat in me (which is all of me), of course, is annoyed and finds this to be just another reason to hate the Current Occupant and Administration. But I think it's more complicated than that, and I have to disagree with Bill Clinton (blasphemy, I know, please don't tell him I said anything remotely contrary to him) that this situation is different from the pardons he issued just one the "facts."

Here's my thinking: if my party was in control of the White House (which it hopefully will be come January 2009) and in the "hot seat" (which it hopefully won't be), I know myself. I know that I would stand by a President/Administration I loved. I feel like I would think up a great justification for why my President was right to commute a sentence or pardon someone. I am loyal to the DFL (Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party, Minnesota's superior version of the DNC) in the same ways that true conservatives are loyal to Bush. So, while I disagree with Bush's decision to commute the sentence, I don't feel like I can be that outraged by it because scandals happen and who knows what the next administrations dirty laundry will be. It would be anticipatorily hypocritical to be excessively critical of this situation, being quite sure that if it were a DFLer in the same position, I would not feel the same.

This, of course, presents two problems. First, it maybe means I am way too jaded in that it sounds like I have accepted as an inevitable reality that politics and the White House equal scandal. Second, it may mean that my devotion to the party colors my ethics. I hope not. I don't want to be jaded or have questionable ethics. But, the President's powers includes the power to pardon whomever he wants (thank you BarBri Con Law review), and that goes for Dems and Republicans alike, whether I like it or not. I mean, President Bartlett pardoned Toby, which was absolutely a political move and also involved issues of national security/top secret White House affairs. And I found that to be a tear-jerker, beautiful moment of West Wing (but weren't they all?) So, how is that so very different than Scooter's situation, other than the fact that West Wing is only for pretend (would that it were not).

My dad also pointed out that perjury is trickier than it seems at first glance. If enough time passes and enough questions are asked, isn't just about anyone capable of perjury? You think you remember something just how it happened but you don't. No one knows more than the Criminal Defense Attorney Bar how fallible the human memory is and how it can so often lead to incorrect statements and conclusions.

Finally, are the Scooter's crimes felonies? I think so, since he was getting more than a year in the slammer. And he's still convicted- so that means he can't vote, right? As a matter of principle, I think that permanent felon disenfranchisement is unconstitutional but as long as that law sticks around, I don't mind one less Republican vote in 2008. But by that time, Bush may have taken the next step and pardoned Scooter. Or disenfranchised several thousand more black men in Florida. What an American Hero.