Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Downs and Ups

This has been a rocky week. Lots of downs and ups. I'm doing OK but it's quite exhausting. Like running bleachers at the track by Southwest High School. I haven't done that in about 12 years, but I remember how it wore me out so I felt like I couldn't even move. That's kind of how I feel right now.

The roller coaster week in review:

Started Monday by taking Eduardo to the airport at 3:30am. He is in the Dominican Republic now and will be back in Minneapolis mid-February. Sort of an UP because I'm happy for him that he can be in his place for awhile. DOWN because I started the week with a profound lack of sleep.

Monday morning continued with divorce court. DOWN. No fighting; just having to put all of the pain on the record. It was way harder than I expected and I haven't been able to shake it off. I feel like a moron for letting it get to me so much, even though it all happened exactly how I knew it would.

After court, Brianna and another friend of ours and I went to lunch and had a bottle of wine. At 11 a.m. UP. Felt good to be surrounded by two good friends who make me laugh and who don't feel weird when I cry in public.

Mid-way through lunch found out that someone we expected to come to the Vikings game with us wouldn't be able to join us because of some unforeseen circumstances. Vague enough for you? You're welcome. Anyway, the point is, DOWN.

Shortly after lunch, realized that we now had two extra tickets to the Vikings game and that since it was my Divorce Day, I had free reign to figure out how we use them. Enter Pauly and Kara. UP. Oldest dear friend in the world and his awesome wife joining RAA and me at the first outdoor Vikings home game in our lives? UP!

About 4 p.m. we headed over to TCF stadium where the Vikings are playing since the collapse of the Metrodome roof. Waiting in line in an ice storm? DOWN. in my new long underwear, wind pants, and parka while sipping Kahlua and taking pictures with my law partners? UP.




Got into the stadium and had pretty good seats in the end zone. Pauly and Kara arrived just before kick off. Wonderful energy throughout the game. Spent the evening with good friends cheering for our stupid football team. Didn't even matter that they lost. UP.





After the game, I fell into bed about midnight. I'd been up for 21 hours. Got up at 6 a.m. for work. DOWN. I can't actually remember much of my day at work due partly to being tired and partly to being out of sorts. DOWN.

Celebrated Christmas with Mom and Roger last night. Enjoyed delicious food, wonderful company, and the Charlie Brown Christmas Special. UP. And a new feather bed for my bed. UP. Got home to being unable to get in our house through the carriage walk since the plows had plowed it in again , and the neighbor teen I pay to shovel had not shoveled. Had to lug Johan and his gifts around the block to be able to get into our house. DOWN.

As for today, hotmail account was hacked and "I" apparently sent dozens of people Viagra and hot steamy love emails. DOWN.

Tomorrow? Nothing that will prevent me from wearing jeans to work. UP. Hoping to get out of work early enough to get a pedicure before leaving Friday morning for Florida to embark on the Norwegian Sun for 7 days at sea and in Mexico, Belize, Guatemala, and Key West. UP, UP, UP. And all of this with some of my favorite people. UP.

I may not write again in 2010 since I'll be on a ship in the Gulf of Mexico. Here's to a new year with plenty of UP. And if there's more running of the bleachers at the track, here's to plenty of good friends to stretch out with afterward. Movin' on up in 2011.

Saturday, December 18, 2010

DADT

The Senate voted to repeal Don't Ask; Don't Tell today. I feel embarrassed to even capitalize the words and the "acronym" as I write this.

But, it's funny how civil rights legislation happens. You hope for it and demand it and vote for it, and then, when you're drinking wine with some fantastic women and not thinking about civil rights hardly at all, there it comes.

It's a little strange how I feel about this, because I really don't want Johan to be in the military in any way, shape or form for any reason, but at the same time I feel glad that if, for whatever reason he should choose that path, that he could choose it while also being whoever he is meant to be without shame or apologies.

I wonder what a woman similarly situated as I am was doing when the 1965 Voting Rights Act was passed. Was there a woman soon to be divorced who was raising a little boy? Was there a woman who wanted that little boy to grow up in a better world than the one she had known? Did she feel a shift in the universe that night? Will all of this matter?

Tonight, for whatever reason, I feel like my vote on that fateful night in November 2008 matters quite a lot.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Monsters

Me: Johan, how was your day?

Johan: Good. How was your day mommy?

Me: Well, not great. The judge is going to decide against my client and me in our court case.

Johan: What happened? Is the judge scary?

Me: No, the judge just didn't agree with us.

Johan: The judge is a little bit scary though, right?

Me: No, mommy's not scared. It's ok. Let's talk about your day.

Johan: The judge is scary, mommy. The judge is a monster.

Me: You're right.

Monday, November 29, 2010

Chair Legs

Today, B.J. and I were talking about love and loss and family and holidays over bowls of hot soup. And he asked me if Thanksgiving was very hard for me this year. And I said, no, not really. Almost all of my closest friends were in town and I had so much fun. (Side note: And this other one is going to be here in less than two weeks. Heart swoons in anticipation.)

B.J. was quiet a moment and then he said, "Most people are supported with 4 or so chair legs to hold them up, and if they lose one, well, things get wobbly. But it seems like you have about 10 chair legs in your life."

Indeed. 10 chair legs. Make no mistake: things still get wobbly, but it's a lot easier to find a new balance when the chair still has 9 legs.

Monday, November 22, 2010

#Upsides

I apologize in advance for the checklist style format recently. I realize it's a cop out from drafting actual prose, but lists are kind of how my brain has been working recently.

There is a lot of grimy muck in my world right now. Despite that, I am trying to focus on all the good stuff in life. There is plenty. I also find myself thinking about the upsides of this big upheaval. Some of them are petty and small and insignificant, but I think it's helping me through the day. Helping me get to the other side of the mountain, or at least see the view on the other side.

Without further ado, I present to you #TheUpsides. Or, Hashtag: The Upsides...

- I have a lot more closet space. My clothes are lest smushed up and wrinkly, and they are easier to find.

- There is less furniture in the house, which is particularly great in the basement because Johan has a more spacious indoor play area now. And, I am inspired to make it even cooler by having areas for legos/blocks, cars, dinosaurs etc. Having the bigger toys all in the basement will make the main floor of the house less cluttered and there will be more room in Johan's bedroom for his books. All good things.

- I don't ever dread going home, wondering if somebody is going to be in a bad mood or looking for an argument.

- There is no tension in our house. There is no animosity or distant silence. There is just Johan and me playing and laughing and chatting about what to do next. The lack of tension makes me feel more energy to take on fun experiments or random projects with Johan. My heart feels lighter and I am willing to bet Johan's does, too.

- I have a new bed which is just as firm as firm can be. All it needs is a nice plush feather bed to top it, and I will be in business. Even in spite of the turmoil recently, I have been sleeping great and I think it's all because of my new bed.

- No more main floor/living room TV. In college, we never had a TV and it was so peaceful. Well, ok, we had one at the Compound senior year, but Moira made us keep it in Sarah's closet. Finally we tricked her into keeping in the in the living room, but we had to cover it with some sort of belly dancing scarf. Anyway, while living with Eduardo, we have always had too many television sets and have had the TV on too much for my taste. I like a night of Law and Order or Family Guy as much as anyone, but TV can be such an energy-sucker. We still have one in the basement and I have one in my bedroom for watching Friends while I fall asleep, but no more on the main level. Instead, we have music. It is, at the risk of sounding dorky, glorious. I haven't listened to music at home in a long time and I haven't heard a lot of my CDs in years. In the past couple weeks, Johan has heard Manu Chau, Vivaldi, Wyclef for the first time. It puts a smile on my face and a spring in my step. It makes the house feel like a happy home.

There are more #upsides and I will probably share them as I realize them, but for now, that's a pretty good start.

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Coming Clean

My thoughts have been somewhat fragmented lately, bouncing about like a small boat in a big ocean. Paragraphs seem daunting. Here's what's up.

...Eduardo and I are divorcing.

...It is the harder better road.

...We are both sad but I think somewhat relieved.

...We both love Johan more than anything and have been working very hard to rise above our own messiness to make things good for him.

...We believe that Johan will be better off with two happy parents living separately than two unhappy parents living together.

...I will continue to live in my house.

...Johan will see both Eduardo and I every week. He will go to his same school. He has dinosaurs at both of his homes.

...Even though I know Johan will be fine, I also know all too well how these decisions will affect and define him for the rest of his life. I hope these experiences will equip him to be strong and resilient. I hope it will make him a person who knows that a family is any group of people who hold each other up. I hope that he will know the courage to make changes when he needs to, knowing that he is surrounded by people who will hold him up when things are rough. I hope he will be a person who can bend and sway. I hope he will be a person who can adapt to a multitude of situations and thrive in it.

...I never thought this would be my life.

...I sort of always knew this would be my life.

...I am humbled and moved by the outpouring of support and love that I have felt from my family, my closest friends, my law partners, and even my staff.

...I am not angry anymore. My soul is a little bruised and battered from the storm, but I am not angry anymore.


Sunday, November 14, 2010

Birthday Eve

Tomorrow is Johan's 3rd birthday.

Three years ago tonight, Eduardo and I decided to watch "Knocked Up" and I sat on the couch belly full of baby and mind full of anticipation to meet my son the next day.

He is more wonderful than I ever imagined. The love I have for him is more intense than any I have ever experienced. The richness that Johan brings to me. The peace that I experience when he snuggles up to me. The way my heart soars when his Lund-inherited rubber face scrunches up and his eyes sparkle. In a world that is uncertain, I am certain of this: there is no greater joy to me than loving Johan, than making his world good, than helping him become the person he is meant to be.








Happy Birthday, Pavo. Momma loves you.

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

The Times They Are A'Changin'

I am in the middle of some big life changes. Hard and uncomfortable changes. Changes that make me wish I was 5 and that other people were in charge of my well-being and my decisions. Changes that make me want to crawl in bed and stay there until Spring. Changes that make me feel lonely and scared and doubtful and lost.

Changes that make me incredibly grateful for the opportunity to be Johan's mom and that reaffirm that he is the best thing/person in my life. Changes that reaffirm my love for my job and my law firm- a place I go for sustenance and strength.

Changes that remind me of the high quality of people in my life: people that will fly across the country for 48 hours just to be there to sit with me and laugh and cry; people that will come home from their honeymoons and spend 2 hours on the phone with me in the middle of the night; people that will drop what they are doing to be there for me. And for Johan. We are damn lucky.

It is hard for me for things to be in limbo. I do well with structure and order. I like answers and I like problems solved. That's not how things are now. There is much unknown and it makes me feel uneasy and uncomfortable. But, so it is. I go to my yoga mat and try to find some internal balance. And I keep going back to this quote.

‎"Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now."

I struggle to love the questions. It doesn't come easy to me. But I am trying. And slowly, slowly I am at least accepting that right now I have to live those questions, even if I don't love to do it.

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Canciones

Johan loves to sing and he is at an age where he can memorize almost anything very quickly. He sometimes misses a few words though.

"Old McDonald had a farm. Ee-eye-ee-eye-o. And on his farm he had a fight, ee-eye-ee-eye-o. With a fight fight here and a fight fight there. Here a fight, there a fight, everywhere a fight fight. Old McDonald had a farm, ee-eye-ee-eye- PUNCH!"

Hm. Hard not to laugh. But also must find balance between not condoning fighting or violence but also not overreacting to natural rough-housing and active play.

And this one:

"Shoo fly don't father me; shoo fly don't father me. Shoo fly don't father me for I belong to some mommy."

Sunday, October 17, 2010

MSP-MIA-MSP

I am just back from a rockin' 4 days in Miami. Take some attorneys, throw in some wine, a sparkly shirt, and a rooftop poolside bar on South Beach, and it turns out it's a mix for fun. We had a great time and had some QT with our Florida friends.

What's pretty clear, though, is that I am no Miami girl. There was a time when I was still in law school that Eduardo and I thought we might move to Miami after I graduated. I think he would still be happy to head down there, actually. We were drawn to it for the warm weather, the international atmosphere, the proximity to the DR, and the ready availability of Presidente beer and Santo Domingo Cafe.

But, after spending these days in South Beach, I don't think I could live down there. I like bars where there are video games, cheap beer, and awesome juke boxes with plenty of Guns 'n' Roses and Bon Jovi songs. And I like it that I can wear jeans, a tank top (or sweater, depending on the season) and some earrings, and fit in just fine. In Miami, they have a constant techno beat, girls in tiny black dresses and 4" heels and $65 dollar pitchers of champagne/vodka/strawberry cocktails. I'm not gonna lie, those cocktails were wicked good.

And it's not that I disliked Miami. It's that 4 days was just right.

And there was plenty of just right. Four days of swimming in the ocean, drawing in the sand, eating delicious Cuban food, dinner at Michelle Bernstein's restaurant, and drinking red wine at night on the beach with the attorneys at my firm.

Now, I'm home and glad to have tucked Johan into bed after a story and a song. No 4" heels required.

Sunday, September 26, 2010

Johan + Friends

The other day, Johan got his first demerit/warning at school. His color was changed to yellow- green is good, yellow is not so good (or "slow," according to Johan), and red is big trouble. Anyway, in the course of all this, I spoke to Johan's teacher and she confirmed what I had already guessed from listening to Johan- he has a best friend. The kid's name is Gabriel. He and Johan love trains and baseball and shenanigans. They hug each other and laugh and make trouble. I was telling Addie about how I started giggling when the preschool teacher told me how they are naughty together, and she astutely pointed out how my wife and I probably had our colors changed, too. True enough.

I don't know Gabriel well, but Johan talks about him every day. It warms my heart to know that Johan has a best friend. Nothing like it in the world.

Prior to all of this, I had started to talking to the mom of another boy in Johan's class, and we had set up a play date for today. This morning we went over to Andrew's house and then on to the park. I didn't really know Andrew either, but the moment Johan saw him, both their faces lit up and they ran up to each other, babbling on about baseball and farm animals.

There is something amazing about watching Johan with these kids with whom he has forged relationships. It is sort of a quintessential moment of his independence- this are HIS friends- the people he has chosen to be in his life. It isn't about me or our family or people I have chosen. I mean, Johan doesn't really even choose his own clothes yet, but he certainly has chosen his friends.

It's exciting for me to imagine how long these friendships could last - how these little boys might (or might not, who knows) be part of each other's lives for a very long time.

At the very least, I think Johan is ready to have a friends birthday party this year. Johan, Gabriel, and Andrew. Ok, who wants to volunteer to help with that?

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Weekend

I don't do a very good job of recounting the adventures that are Weekends with Johan. We have fun. We do. This summer involved huge weekends at many cabins and lots of running in the sun, mosquitoes, water, bubbles, trucks, and goofery.

But, you know, the details don't get told. So, please visit here for a nice story about how Johan and I spent last Sunday.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Before the Annoyance Gets Stale...

I always feel like a jerk writing something negative after a long absence, but you know, it wouldn't really be my blog if it was any other way.

I have to say I was completely irritated all day long on Saturday. 9/11, that is. This year I was absolutely annoyed by the "Never Forget" sentiment. It seemed more this year. Or maybe I'm just done with that sentiment. I'm sure part of it is the recent surge in anti-Muslim thinly veiled racism in the debate over who should be able to build near Ground Zero. I can't even begin to tell you all the Amendments that would be violated by prohibiting Muslims from building. Um, hello?! Religion! Property! America loves those things!

As an even further aside, on Saturday one of my religious cousins had a cartoon showing Jesus blowing the match that the crazy pastor was going to use to light Qurans on fire. It said What Would Jesus Do? I couldn't tell if the cartoon was depicting Jesus blowing the fire out or trying to make the flame grow by adding oxygen. So, who the hell knows what Jesus would do? I don't have a direct line, but I commented to my friend that, from what I remember, the big J.C. seemed to be into forgiveness and whatnot, so probably not vengeance. Then my cousin called my a slippery lawyer. Great.

Anyway, maybe that's my problem with "Never Forget." Yes, it was terrible and painful and made me feel angry and vulnerable. But, at some point you've got to pick up and move on. "Never Forget" means keeping the raw pain ever present, doesn't it? It means fanning flames of anger that can foster resentment and hate. That's an awful lot of energy spent on preserving and protecting bad feelings and negativity.

I say, no thank you.

Divorced kids learn early on to be resilient. Pull yourself up by your bootstraps and learn to have a little joy in life. (This is not an endorsement for raising kids in divorced families. Well, it sort of is. Because we are cooler. And "better" cite SKE. Ummm...we'll talk more about that later.) Maybe "Never Forget" means different things to those who insist on writing such mottos as their facebook status nine years later. But with the flag-waving and the political cartoons, it seems like not.

So, how about a new slogan? Or perhaps a good old Wellstone standby: Stand Up; Keep Fighting! And make sure you remove your crazy cousins from your newsfeed!

Friday, August 27, 2010

Carlis the Baby

A few months ago, our neighbors had their niece, Rose, over at their house. She is 2
and brought her friend, Carlis, 3. Yeah, Carlis is not a real name, but what are you going to do.

Johan played with Rose and Carlis all evening as Addie and I drank wine, and King and Bergen did...I can't remember. Anyway, since then, Johan always talks about Carlis. He makes me include Carlis in stories that I tell, and now his imaginary friend/baby is named Carlis.

Carlis is a VERY small baby. He fits in Johan's cupped hand. He goes to school with Johan (and gets to participate in all the activities at school) and Johan makes sure that Carlis the Baby gets plenty of naps and calm but firm discipline. He cups his hand to hold Carlis and lays Carlis the Baby gently on the bed so he can rest. Johan insists that Carlis be offered a cup of yogurt and fruit at breakfast so he isn't left out.

I love that Johan has an imaginary friend. I love it even more that his imaginary friend is a "baby" that must be approximately 1-2" long since he seems to reside only in Johan's pudgy tiny cupped hand.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

15 years

I know I already posted about Jamie's wedding, but this is so worth sharing. It remains in my heart a beautiful evening. My mom posted these pictures on the good ol' facebook tonight. I can't even begin to comment on how impressed I am that she figured out how to scan a picture from 1995.

Even better, I think these pictures do more to explain how and why I felt so emotional being together with Jamie and Alexei on Saturday (and Johan and Pelagia playing together) than any words I could write or say.

Here we are last Saturday night:



And here we are in 1995:

Sunday, August 8, 2010

On Tacos

One of the things I missed most about Los Angeles is the tacos. The true Baja, California style tacos: palm-sized corn tortillas with carne asada, white onion, cilantro, lime, sometimes a little radish, and hot sauce. These tacos are best eaten from a taco truck standing on the street at 3 a.m.

The other day when Brianna and I were walking back from lunch, I noticed a truck selling food. My pulse raced as I became hopeful that Minneapolis finally had a taco truck...we got closer and the menu included "Lobster club sandwich" for $12 and a sausage sandwich for $8. Boo.

And seriously, who would buy a $12 sandwich from a truck? Or, even more disturbing, purchase lobster from a truck? Who are these people? Don't they know how much more popular they would be if they sold asada?

I went back to my incomplete existence as someone who only gets real tacos on my yearly sojourn to Southern California.

Then, lo! Sunday during the baseball game, I saw a Taco Bell commercial for "Cantina Tacos." From what I can tell, they have nothing to do with cantinas, but actually would be better named Taco Truck Tacos. I'm not sure if it's worth trying them, although Taco Bell seems to be making an effort to make them real- corn tortillas, onion, cilantro etc. I bet with a little hot sauce, they might not be half bad.

In the alternative, I should start planning my next trip to L.A. Maybe I'll go get some tacos and do that.

Jamie's Wedding + Fevery Johan

Jamie's wedding was yesterday. It was a fantastic day.

It was good to get to know some of her other friends from college and Chicago and to see some old faces from high school. The ceremony was simple and lovely and the music was mostly 80s rock - pure Jamie. She was an absolutely exquisite bride. I will try to get some pictures soon.

Besides celebrating Jamie's new beginnings, for me the wedding was also a reunion of sorts.

Alexei, who was, once upon a time, one of the people I was closest to in this world, was there. We hadn't seen each other in a couple years but we have the sort of relationship that we are able to pick up just where we left off and feel intensely connected the moment we get together. It's been like that since we first became friends in 1993. There have been ebbs and flows with respect to how often we see each other or talk, but the connection remains. This was the first time that Alexei met Johan and the first time I met Alexei's daughter Pelagia (Pel-a-GHEE-a).

As we waited for the salad course to be served at dinner, Alexei and I were in the area outside the dining hall watching Johan and Pelagia play. It was intensely emotional for both us to see our little ones together. I suppose something about the passage of time and generations. I felt at once old and intimately connected to my youth in a way I haven't in quite some time.

Jamie and her new husband are now on their way to sunny Lincoln, Nebraska for a honeymoon (their real honeymoon will be in Bali next year), and Johan has spent most of today feverish. A little too much weekend for him, I guess. Or maybe he's feeling emotional about his youth, too.

No strep or ear infections, and the doctor at Urgent Care told Johan to drink lots of fluids including water and popsicles. What part of that do you think he heard? Yep, he sucked down four (4) All Fruit popsicles today. Can you say milking it?

Thursday, August 5, 2010

8

I can not completely articulate how absolutely full of joy my heart is that a Federal Judge in California overturned Proposition 8 yesterday. Here is the full decision. It is worth reading.

Proposition 8 was the one glum moment of election night 2008. Well, that and Michelle Bachmann getting re-elected.

I was not in Castro or Chelsea or West Hollywood where I understand some raucous celebrating to have occurred, but I have to say that I was pretty moved by the sort of virtual rally and celebration that occurred on Facebook. I seem to have over 300 Facebook friends, which, of course, is no reflection on how many actual friends I have, BUT it was very cool to see so many statuses of people from many walks of life and all over the country celebrating the same victory. And it reaffirmed that I know some of the best people in the world, even if I only stay in touch with some of them via status updates.

Finally, I think it's pretty clear that the next step in this Proposition 8 battle is the 9th Circuit and then the SCOTUS. If SCOTUS upholds the decision from yesterday, it will be a landmark civil rights case and likely recognizable by name similar to Roe v. Wade, Brown v. Board of Education, Gideon v. Wainwright, Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye v. City of Hialeah...

Oh. Wait. You haven't heard of Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye v. City of Hialeah? That was the case where SCOTUS overturned a Hialeah ordinance banning animal sacrifice as it infringed upon the religious freedom of practitioners of Santeria. You know, that pesky 1st Amendment and all. I wrote a paper on it in college and another in law school.

I have digressed into SCOTUS rambling. It happens too easily. I haven't even had any wine today. Sometimes I really miss law school.

My point, though, was that the name of the case that overturns Proposition 8 is Perry et al v. Schwarzenegger. This name will go all the way up to SCOTUS and if the esteemed Justices follow the U.S. Constitution, the landmark case legalizing gay marriage throughout the country will be named after Arnold Schwarzenegger.

This is totally awesome.

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Activity

Sometimes I get lazy. For example, I haven't been to yoga in several weeks. Part of it is that I now have a radio show on Tuesday mornings which means I can't do Tuesday class at Blooma, but that's mostly an excuse since I know the basic sun salutations and I have a Yoga Shakti DVD that I can do any day of the week. I hate that I'm not doing it and I am changing the day of my show post Labor Day so I can go back to my Tuesday class. But, in the mean time, this laziness has to stop.

Back in 2003, before I was in law school, I was doing pilates regularly at the Calhoun Beach Club. Then, one day, I showed up to the 6:30 am class and it had been cancelled. It disheartened me so much that I never went back. Yeah, I know, weird.

I've been riding my bike some this summer, but not the long rides I was envisioning, and not as often as I was when I first bought it.

It's kind of a circular problem of tiredness- if I get into a pattern of not working out, then I feel very tired and then I feel very tired so I can't drag my ass out of bed in order to do yoga or bike or walk before work.

Today Johan and I went on a 5 mile, brisk-paced walk. Well, I walked and he sat in his stroller eating oranges and pointing out various animals along the way. I know it's not running a marathon, but I felt awesome all day - while Johan was napping, I read my book and did laundry and organized the house. Tonight I still feel good and am hoping that my long walk is the catalyst to getting back to the mat/bike/paths.

One of my facebook friends (the Mister of my good friend Sarah) had a status update a few weeks ago that is apt and is important for me to remember:

"And to think I almost skipped yoga this morning due to tiredness. That would have been like skipping one's favorite meal due to hunger."

Monday, July 12, 2010

Fiscal Year

Well, Friday at work was just about one of the worst days at work I've had in a long time. No one single thing was disaster, but a bunch of annoying and unpleasant things added up to one bad July 9th.

But fear not.

It was the end of my fiscal year, because, see, on Sunday I had a birthday. So, July 9 was my last day as a 28-year-old lawyer. Today I started anew. A new fiscal year. A new settlement; a new kind of hearing (fighting to get my fees paid after winning the substantive case); and then wine with Brianna.

I don't do New Years resolutions much, but I do feel contemplative at my birthday. I like to think about the year ahead- things to change and ways to grow. Or whatever.

Here's what I've got so far for age 29:

- Stop fidgeting. This include clicking pen tops and unraveling paper clips. Immediately.

- Get regular pedicures. Shallow, you say? Then you haven't seen my feet. This is $40 well spent.

- Do new stuff in my practice. Done! What? On the first day of the fiscal year 29, I already did it! I had an attorney fee hearing which is a Work Comp hearing I'd never done before. So, now for the next 363 days, it's time to try out some more. Go.

- Teach Johan to write his name. (that might be in the 4th quarter of my current fiscal year.)

Let's vamos! Time to seize 29.

Sunday, June 27, 2010

7 Weekends

1) Carla Emeott's wedding + Jamie's bridal shower.

2) Brianna's cabin in Glenwood, MN. Tubing behind a speed boat? Why, yes, thankyouverymuch!

3) My 29th birthday + Sarah in Minneapolis!

4) 6th Wedding Anniversary + Sylia in Minneapolis!

5) Mille Lacs with Addie, King, + Johan!

6) River boat cruise and mini-vacay in Stillwater for Mom and Roger's 25th Anniversary!

7) Jamie's Wedding!

So...if you want to hang out, how's mid-August?

Sunday, June 20, 2010

It was time...

...for Sarah's dad to be on his way home.

...for me to update the Johan stats.

...for summer to start with a bang featuring Johan running across the lawn with a couple of neighbor kids for 3 hours last night.

...for me to discover Minneapolis' dueling pianos bar. Awesome. Pretty sure I want to celebrate there again very soon.

...for me to discover Great Lakes Brewery.

...for the sun to come back.

...for me to celebrate my husband as father...whatever disagreements he and I have, he sure is a great dad and I do love to watch him with Johan.

...for me to get a Father's Day gift for my dad that I think he is really going to love (I'll let you know tomorrow!)


One last thing-
it WILL be time for me to post some new pictures of Johan. One of these days.

Saturday, June 12, 2010

Schoolyard Drama - International Edition

I haven't been blogging and it's mostly because I've felt like everything and anything I would say would be trite in light of my best friend Sarah's dad's situation. If you aren't aware, you can catch up on my facebook page but he is currently imprisoned in Rwanda for words written and spoken in conjunction with representing clients. Rwanda is a police state and there is no love lost between Peter and the current regime.

I have also felt like I haven't wanted to write too much about his situation for a few reasons 1) I don't know enough background on Rwanda and Peter's work to speak with any authority on it; 2) it's not about me and what I would write on my blog would be about me; and 3) I sort of hate Rwanda right now.

It's crazy, really, to hate Rwanda. I guess better said, I hate the government that has so little regard for human rights, free speech, free exchange of ideas, due process, an independent judiciary, the presumption of innocence, and all other sorts of things I like.

And at a very basic level, I hate the Kagame regime because of the way it has caused an upheaval in Sarah's life. I mean, she's my best friend. Remember the intense feelings of loyalty to a friend in elementary school and how that loyalty would become even mroe pronounced when some mean kid started picking on your friend? And remember those primal feelings of anger and detest for the mean kid-even though he wasn't picking on you directly?

Imagine that, but on a greater scale. This time the schoolyard bully is the Kagame regime. And I kind of want to punch his lights out to defend my best friend. (Note to self: this probably counts as a threat to Rwandan national security- do not ever travel to Rwanda so long as current laws still exist.) And this time punching his lights out means cutting off U.S. aid to Rwanda until they start respecting international law and human rights standards.

Zero dollars of U.S. aid to Rwanda? How would that affect Rwandan national security, huh?

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Shopping

Johan: This store smells like poop.

Me: Is that because you just pooped?

Johan: Don't worry about it.

TR Part 2

It's been a good break. I've been doing a lot of reading. Last weekend Johan and I were up at Mille Lacs with my dad. It was wonderful.

Before my last post that had the TR quote, I'd found myself becoming extremely negative about some aspects of my firm; or not really the firm itself but some of the people. This was sort of a self-fulfilling prophecy - the more negative I was feeling about things, the more I noticed the things that bothered me. And then I realized that I was becoming hypercritical about this entity and a job that I absolutely love. And what for? Nothing is on the brink of collapse. On the contrary, there is so much GOOD going on at my firm that some days I can't wait to spring out of my house just to get started. Yep, I am that lame.

So, I stepped back. I realized that me being hypercritical about some things I want changed is not the way to do it. I have been practicing law for 3 years. And I have had an ownership in this business for 5 months. That's not very long. I am not an expert.

Except for that I might be an expert on how to finagle my way out of questions about my clients' social security numbers in Depositions (Q: What's your SSN? A: The same one I had when the employer hired me. Q: Well, what's that? Me: OBJECTION! Asked and answered. Also 5th Amendment. Move on counselor.)

Just a little Saturday afternoon tangent there. OK, but the point is that my boss/partner has been running this law firm successfully for many years. So hypercritical me needs to chill out. This doesn't mean ignore the ways we could improve- in order to remain relevant, successful, and profitable we always have to be willing to modify and reinvent ourselves. That's just what this business is like. But change takes time. And patience. Patience?! As you may know, patience is not something I am an expert in. But I am trying.

And just as I was realizing all these things, there was the TR quote. With that, I decided (perhaps narcissisticly) that his words were spot on with respect to my situation and I promised myself to stop criticizing and being so harsh on every less than perfect situation. I still want and am pushing for the changes I think will help our firm prosper. I love this firm. It is great for what it has been, what it is, and what I think we are on the cusp of becoming.

So I decided to change. The change is not so much outward, but within me. It's a mental shift. It's recognizing each of our strengths as well as weaknesses, and being grateful that where one of us has a weakness, the others can pick up the slack. It's acknowledging how much good this law firm does and how fortunate I am to be excited to go to work (almost) every day; how lucky I am to feel like I am helping people, doing good and making bad situations better. I think that meaningful work is one of the keys to contentment in this life, and it is not commonplace. So, I'm trying to be the man in the arena- doing, acting, creating, making change. And it's working, which is just fantastic.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Me: Part 1

I don't have a lot of time right now but I do have some thoughts brewing. That will be Part 2. For Part 1, I will leave it to good old Teddy Roosevelt. This passage was quoted in the Minneapolis paper on Sunday in an editorial about cynicism and the need for a new commitment to public service.

To say it moved me is an understatement. It has caused some serious self reflection and introspection, of which I will share more later.

For now, here you go:


"It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat."


-Theodore Roosevelt
The Sorbonne, Paris, France
April 23, 1910

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Patron of the Arts

Thursday night was Johan's nursery school Spring Program. All four (4) of my parents were in the back of the auditorium (eh...sanctuary...the school is housed in a church) because they had other engagements after Johan's performance. As it happened, Johan was not happy that he was expected to walk down the aisle and sing songs after seeing his beloved grandparents. The only way to get him down the aisle was if my step mom carried him.

So there they were.

A group of toddlers dressed in yellow shirts with black tape on them looking like the most delicious little bumble bees on the stage...together with Johan's Grandma. It was very sweet. And makes me think that my boy may not be like his momma in her love for performance and being on stage (now manifested as the courtroom with juries and judges my audience.)

That's OK. He's a lot better at tee-ball than I am. We all have our strengths and weaknesses.

Then, last night we went to the Apple Valley Middle School Spring play, "Annie." My niece had a small role but threw her all into it and she loves being on stage. Before the show started my sister in law asked if I brought books or toys for Johan to play with during the show. I hadn't really thought of that. I mean, we're here to see a show!

I was right that I wouldn't need toys to engage Johan. He was absolutely enthralled from beginning to end. Clapping at the right times; laughing when the audience would laugh; point out each time Samantha would come on stage and asking where she went when her part was over. I had thought we would leave at intermission but this upset Johan who shouted "More show!" and so I let him have a later bedtime in order to see the show to its conclusion. It makes me happy that, even if Johan is not destined to be a stage performer, he nevertheless loves music, dancing, and theater. It makes me excited for all the shows we can go to together in the next several years.

One more thing about Apple Valley- when Daddy Warbucks was making digs at Democrats (remember how FDR is part of Annie?), the laughter was a bit too genuine for for my comfort zone. This was no SW Minneapolis crowd. In my head, I was all "Dudes! FDR is the reason you have Medicare and Social Security! Not to mention that Democrats are the ones that support arts curricula in schools for your kids so they can put on performances of Annie and then go to Perkins for a cast party of pancakes and Sprite afterward to celebrate the joy of being middle schoolers!"

But that's beside the point. So I didn't say that. And when Johan and I got home, he asked me to sing him a song so I started one of our old favorites, and he said "no, not that one!" until I started singing "Tomorrow."

Saturday, April 17, 2010

In the Car with Ramire

I haven't written about Ramire in a long time, and sadly, until today I hadn't seen him for almost a year. He has always been one of my favorite kids, and I think it's fair to say that until Johan was born, he was my #1. He's still right up there. He's a cool 9 year old now, but I was pleased to find that he is just as kind,thoughtful, affectionate, and insightful as he's always been.

My cousins and I took our kids to a great park this afternoon and Ramire rode with me. He's big enough to be in the front seat now. We decided to crank some Black Eyed Peas on the way to French Regional Park (where you can only speak French, and a beret is required).

We both really like "Imma be" (or, in the alternative, "I'm a bee"- awesome visual, right?) and Ramire asked me who my favorite Pea is.

I said Will.i.am. Of course.

He said Fergie. I asked him why.

And he said, "because her voice sounds different in every song and she looks different in every video. She's really got a wide spectrum of talent."

And in my head, I'm all "wow, I thought you were going to say because she's cute."

Out loud I said "That's a fair point."

Then he said, "Remember a long time ago when we would drive around honking at John Kerry signs?"

And I said, "We did that once on Election Day in 2004."

And he said: "Oh, well it seemed like we did that a lot. Do you ever do that with Johan?"

I replied "Nobody has John Kerry signs anymore, babe."

And he said: "Fair point."

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Bark

Johan, (groggily, and half awake as his nap is disrupted by the neighbor's yappy dog): "What's that? A dinosaur?"

Monday, April 5, 2010

Here We Go...

Johan is entering that fabulous stage of childhood of awesome unedited funny things to say. If memory from my Montessori days serves me, this stage lasts from about age 2.5 to 4.5 with the best material usually landing at just about age 3.5. My friends, let the hilarity ensue:

Johan: What's this, Mommy?

Me: That's my leg, Johan.

Johan: No, that's grass.

Me: Huh. Well, I guess it's also time to shave my legs.

Johan: Yep. It's grass.

Monday, March 29, 2010

On a Bicycle at 64th and Penn

I bought a bike on Saturday. TREK brand. It's pretty excellent. I also bought a trailer for Johan who's my wing man. We roll. We've been out for 5 rides since Saturday which is more bike rides than I've done in the past 5 years.

It wasn't until I was out on the roads that I realized I am pretty nervous about sharing the road with cars. Hmmm. That's a problem. Saturday and Sunday I stuck to side streets around my neighborhood. If I weren't afraid of the busy streets, I could have biked a good 20 miles. Each day.

Yes, that's a complete lie.

Yoga doesn't really get you in shape to ride a bike for more than a couple miles. The truth is that I think it's about 5 miles to get down to Lake Harriet, around the lake, and back to my house and my goal is to be in enough shape to do that by May 1.

So, busy streets are not the only catch to my new life as a bike rider. But especially because of the trailer being quite a bit wider than me on the bike, I was nervous about venturing out further than the side streets. I mean, what's the etiquette for when I am biking on the right side of the road (this is America, of course), but need to make a left turn? This is a serious question. Please answer it.

But, finally, tonight, I decided to harness all my courage and go over to Brianna's house. This involves crossing the freeway (AKA certain death.) On the way to Brianna's house, I got off the bike and walked it across the highway overpass. Then I biked on the sidewalk of Penn Avenue until I could turn onto 64th Street, at which point I went back on the black.

After hanging out with Brianna for a short time, Johan and I put our helmets back on for the bike ride home. As I approached the intersection of 64th and Penn, the light turned red. I needed to make a left turn onto Penn Avenue, which is pretty busy. Before the light turned green, another biker pulled up next to me.

Biker: It's so nice out. Isn't it great to get out on the bike again?

Me: Yes, it's great, but I just got this bike and haven't really been biking in a few years.

Biker: Well, welcome back! (Aside: I did not correct him to tell him it wasn't really accurate to welcome me back to a community I had never really joined.)

Me: Thanks. I'm kind of afraid of cars running me over, though.

Biker: Ahhh, you'll be fine. Follow me!

With that, the light had turned green, and Biker turned left onto Penn, indicating for me to "come on." And follow him I did. Right down Penn Avenue and I even crossed the highway overpass without walking.

Obstacle conquered. Next challenge: extreme super BMX bike flips! (Is that a thing?) Maybe the next step will be doing it without a guide, kind as he was. Or, better yet, the next step will just be getting back on that bicycle tomorrow and each day after that.

Friday, March 26, 2010

Worth Sharing

I have articles and essay that I go back to over and over. Things I read again and again that never grow tiresome. Things that I learn from each time I read them; that never cease to make me feel like I have more insight than I did before. One of them is this graduation speech that David Foster Wallace gave at Kenyon College a few years ago. Lately, I've been reading it almost every day. Here we go...


Transcription of the 2005 Kenyon Commencement Address - May 21, 2005
"(If anybody feels like perspiring [cough], I'd advise you to go ahead, because I'm sure going to. In fact I'm gonna [mumbles while pulling up his gown and taking out a handkerchief from his pocket].) Greetings ["parents"?] and congratulations to Kenyon's graduating class of 2005. There are these two young fish swimming along and they happen to meet an older fish swimming the other way, who nods at them and says "Morning, boys. How's the water?" And the two young fish swim on for a bit, and then eventually one of them looks over at the other and goes "What the hell is water?"

This is a standard requirement of US commencement speeches, the deployment of didactic little parable-ish stories. The story ["thing"] turns out to be one of the better, less bullshitty conventions of the genre, but if you're worried that I plan to present myself here as the wise, older fish explaining what water is to you younger fish, please don't be. I am not the wise old fish. The point of the fish story is merely that the most obvious, important realities are often the ones that are hardest to see and talk about. Stated as an English sentence, of course, this is just a banal platitude, but the fact is that in the day to day trenches of adult existence, banal platitudes can have a life or death importance, or so I wish to suggest to you on this dry and lovely morning.

Of course the main requirement of speeches like this is that I'm supposed to talk about your liberal arts education's meaning, to try to explain why the degree you are about to receive has actual human value instead of just a material payoff. So let's talk about the single most pervasive cliché in the commencement speech genre, which is that a liberal arts education is not so much about filling you up with knowledge as it is about quote teaching you how to think. If you're like me as a student, you've never liked hearing this, and you tend to feel a bit insulted by the claim that you needed anybody to teach you how to think, since the fact that you even got admitted to a college this good seems like proof that you already know how to think. But I'm going to posit to you that the liberal arts cliché turns out not to be insulting at all, because the really significant education in thinking that we're supposed to get in a place like this isn't really about the capacity to think, but rather about the choice of what to think about. If your total freedom of choice regarding what to think about seems too obvious to waste time discussing, I'd ask you to think about fish and water, and to bracket for just a few minutes your skepticism about the value of the totally obvious.

Here's another didactic little story. There are these two guys sitting together in a bar in the remote Alaskan wilderness. One of the guys is religious, the other is an atheist, and the two are arguing about the existence of God with that special intensity that comes after about the fourth beer. And the atheist says: "Look, it's not like I don't have actual reasons for not believing in God. It's not like I haven't ever experimented with the whole God and prayer thing. Just last month I got caught away from the camp in that terrible blizzard, and I was totally lost and I couldn't see a thing, and it was fifty below, and so I tried it: I fell to my knees in the snow and cried out 'Oh, God, if there is a God, I'm lost in this blizzard, and I'm gonna die if you don't help me.'" And now, in the bar, the religious guy looks at the atheist all puzzled. "Well then you must believe now," he says, "After all, here you are, alive." The atheist just rolls his eyes. "No, man, all that was was a couple Eskimos happened to come wandering by and showed me the way back to camp."

It's easy to run this story through kind of a standard liberal arts analysis: the exact same experience can mean two totally different things to two different people, given those people's two different belief templates and two different ways of constructing meaning from experience. Because we prize tolerance and diversity of belief, nowhere in our liberal arts analysis do we want to claim that one guy's interpretation is true and the other guy's is false or bad. Which is fine, except we also never end up talking about just where these individual templates and beliefs come from. Meaning, where they come from INSIDE the two guys. As if a person's most basic orientation toward the world, and the meaning of his experience were somehow just hard-wired, like height or shoe-size; or automatically absorbed from the culture, like language. As if how we construct meaning were not actually a matter of personal, intentional choice. Plus, there's the whole matter of arrogance. The nonreligious guy is so totally certain in his dismissal of the possibility that the passing Eskimos had anything to do with his prayer for help. True, there are plenty of religious people who seem arrogant and certain of their own interpretations, too. They're probably even more repulsive than atheists, at least to most of us. But religious dogmatists' problem is exactly the same as the story's unbeliever: blind certainty, a close-mindedness that amounts to an imprisonment so total that the prisoner doesn't even know he's locked up.

The point here is that I think this is one part of what teaching me how to think is really supposed to mean. To be just a little less arrogant. To have just a little critical awareness about myself and my certainties. Because a huge percentage of the stuff that I tend to be automatically certain of is, it turns out, totally wrong and deluded. I have learned this the hard way, as I predict you graduates will, too.

Here is just one example of the total wrongness of something I tend to be automatically sure of: everything in my own immediate experience supports my deep belief that I am the absolute center of the universe; the realest, most vivid and important person in existence. We rarely think about this sort of natural, basic self-centeredness because it's so socially repulsive. But it's pretty much the same for all of us. It is our default setting, hard-wired into our boards at birth. Think about it: there is no experience you have had that you are not the absolute center of. The world as you experience it is there in front of YOU or behind YOU, to the left or right of YOU, on YOUR TV or YOUR monitor. And so on. Other people's thoughts and feelings have to be communicated to you somehow, but your own are so immediate, urgent, real.

Please don't worry that I'm getting ready to lecture you about compassion or other-directedness or all the so-called virtues. This is not a matter of virtue. It's a matter of my choosing to do the work of somehow altering or getting free of my natural, hard-wired default setting which is to be deeply and literally self-centered and to see and interpret everything through this lens of self. People who can adjust their natural default setting this way are often described as being "well-adjusted", which I suggest to you is not an accidental term.

Given the triumphant academic setting here, an obvious question is how much of this work of adjusting our default setting involves actual knowledge or intellect. This question gets very tricky. Probably the most dangerous thing about an academic education -- least in my own case -- is that it enables my tendency to over-intellectualize stuff, to get lost in abstract argument inside my head, instead of simply paying attention to what is going on right in front of me, paying attention to what is going on inside me.

As I'm sure you guys know by now, it is extremely difficult to stay alert and attentive, instead of getting hypnotized by the constant monologue inside your own head (may be happening right now). Twenty years after my own graduation, I have come gradually to understand that the liberal arts cliché about teaching you how to think is actually shorthand for a much deeper, more serious idea: learning how to think really means learning how to exercise some control over how and what you think. It means being conscious and aware enough to choose what you pay attention to and to choose how you construct meaning from experience. Because if you cannot exercise this kind of choice in adult life, you will be totally hosed. Think of the old cliché about quote the mind being an excellent servant but a terrible master.

This, like many clichés, so lame and unexciting on the surface, actually expresses a great and terrible truth. It is not the least bit coincidental that adults who commit suicide with firearms almost always shoot themselves in: the head. They shoot the terrible master. And the truth is that most of these suicides are actually dead long before they pull the trigger.

And I submit that this is what the real, no bullshit value of your liberal arts education is supposed to be about: how to keep from going through your comfortable, prosperous, respectable adult life dead, unconscious, a slave to your head and to your natural default setting of being uniquely, completely, imperially alone day in and day out. That may sound like hyperbole, or abstract nonsense. Let's get concrete. The plain fact is that you graduating seniors do not yet have any clue what "day in day out" really means. There happen to be whole, large parts of adult American life that nobody talks about in commencement speeches. One such part involves boredom, routine, and petty frustration. The parents and older folks here will know all too well what I'm talking about.

By way of example, let's say it's an average adult day, and you get up in the morning, go to your challenging, white-collar, college-graduate job, and you work hard for eight or ten hours, and at the end of the day you're tired and somewhat stressed and all you want is to go home and have a good supper and maybe unwind for an hour, and then hit the sack early because, of course, you have to get up the next day and do it all again. But then you remember there's no food at home. You haven't had time to shop this week because of your challenging job, and so now after work you have to get in your car and drive to the supermarket. It's the end of the work day and the traffic is apt to be: very bad. So getting to the store takes way longer than it should, and when you finally get there, the supermarket is very crowded, because of course it's the time of day when all the other people with jobs also try to squeeze in some grocery shopping. And the store is hideously lit and infused with soul-killing muzak or corporate pop and it's pretty much the last place you want to be but you can't just get in and quickly out; you have to wander all over the huge, over-lit store's confusing aisles to find the stuff you want and you have to maneuver your junky cart through all these other tired, hurried people with carts (et cetera, et cetera, cutting stuff out because this is a long ceremony) and eventually you get all your supper supplies, except now it turns out there aren't enough check-out lanes open even though it's the end-of-the-day rush. So the checkout line is incredibly long, which is stupid and infuriating. But you can't take your frustration out on the frantic lady working the register, who is overworked at a job whose daily tedium and meaninglessness surpasses the imagination of any of us here at a prestigious college.

But anyway, you finally get to the checkout line's front, and you pay for your food, and you get told to "Have a nice day" in a voice that is the absolute voice of death. Then you have to take your creepy, flimsy, plastic bags of groceries in your cart with the one crazy wheel that pulls maddeningly to the left, all the way out through the crowded, bumpy, littery parking lot, and then you have to drive all the way home through slow, heavy, SUV-intensive, rush-hour traffic, et cetera et cetera.

Everyone here has done this, of course. But it hasn't yet been part of you graduates' actual life routine, day after week after month after year.

But it will be. And many more dreary, annoying, seemingly meaningless routines besides. But that is not the point. The point is that petty, frustrating crap like this is exactly where the work of choosing is gonna come in. Because the traffic jams and crowded aisles and long checkout lines give me time to think, and if I don't make a conscious decision about how to think and what to pay attention to, I'm gonna be pissed and miserable every time I have to shop. Because my natural default setting is the certainty that situations like this are really all about me. About MY hungriness and MY fatigue and MY desire to just get home, and it's going to seem for all the world like everybody else is just in my way. And who are all these people in my way? And look at how repulsive most of them are, and how stupid and cow-like and dead-eyed and nonhuman they seem in the checkout line, or at how annoying and rude it is that people are talking loudly on cell phones in the middle of the line. And look at how deeply and personally unfair this is.

Or, of course, if I'm in a more socially conscious liberal arts form of my default setting, I can spend time in the end-of-the-day traffic being disgusted about all the huge, stupid, lane-blocking SUV's and Hummers and V-12 pickup trucks, burning their wasteful, selfish, forty-gallon tanks of gas, and I can dwell on the fact that the patriotic or religious bumper-stickers always seem to be on the biggest, most disgustingly selfish vehicles, driven by the ugliest [responding here to loud applause] (this is an example of how NOT to think, though) most disgustingly selfish vehicles, driven by the ugliest, most inconsiderate and aggressive drivers. And I can think about how our children's children will despise us for wasting all the future's fuel, and probably screwing up the climate, and how spoiled and stupid and selfish and disgusting we all are, and how modern consumer society just sucks, and so forth and so on.

You get the idea.

If I choose to think this way in a store and on the freeway, fine. Lots of us do. Except thinking this way tends to be so easy and automatic that it doesn't have to be a choice. It is my natural default setting. It's the automatic way that I experience the boring, frustrating, crowded parts of adult life when I'm operating on the automatic, unconscious belief that I am the center of the world, and that my immediate needs and feelings are what should determine the world's priorities.

The thing is that, of course, there are totally different ways to think about these kinds of situations. In this traffic, all these vehicles stopped and idling in my way, it's not impossible that some of these people in SUV's have been in horrible auto accidents in the past, and now find driving so terrifying that their therapist has all but ordered them to get a huge, heavy SUV so they can feel safe enough to drive. Or that the Hummer that just cut me off is maybe being driven by a father whose little child is hurt or sick in the seat next to him, and he's trying to get this kid to the hospital, and he's in a bigger, more legitimate hurry than I am: it is actually I who am in HIS way.

Or I can choose to force myself to consider the likelihood that everyone else in the supermarket's checkout line is just as bored and frustrated as I am, and that some of these people probably have harder, more tedious and painful lives than I do.

Again, please don't think that I'm giving you moral advice, or that I'm saying you are supposed to think this way, or that anyone expects you to just automatically do it. Because it's hard. It takes will and effort, and if you are like me, some days you won't be able to do it, or you just flat out won't want to.

But most days, if you're aware enough to give yourself a choice, you can choose to look differently at this fat, dead-eyed, over-made-up lady who just screamed at her kid in the checkout line. Maybe she's not usually like this. Maybe she's been up three straight nights holding the hand of a husband who is dying of bone cancer. Or maybe this very lady is the low-wage clerk at the motor vehicle department, who just yesterday helped your spouse resolve a horrific, infuriating, red-tape problem through some small act of bureaucratic kindness. Of course, none of this is likely, but it's also not impossible. It just depends what you what to consider. If you're automatically sure that you know what reality is, and you are operating on your default setting, then you, like me, probably won't consider possibilities that aren't annoying and miserable. But if you really learn how to pay attention, then you will know there are other options. It will actually be within your power to experience a crowded, hot, slow, consumer-hell type situation as not only meaningful, but sacred, on fire with the same force that made the stars: love, fellowship, the mystical oneness of all things deep down.

Not that that mystical stuff is necessarily true. The only thing that's capital-T True is that you get to decide how you're gonna try to see it.

This, I submit, is the freedom of a real education, of learning how to be well-adjusted. You get to consciously decide what has meaning and what doesn't. You get to decide what to worship.

Because here's something else that's weird but true: in the day-to day trenches of adult life, there is actually no such thing as atheism. There is no such thing as not worshipping. Everybody worships. The only choice we get is what to worship. And the compelling reason for maybe choosing some sort of god or spiritual-type thing to worship -- be it JC or Allah, bet it YHWH or the Wiccan Mother Goddess, or the Four Noble Truths, or some inviolable set of ethical principles -- is that pretty much anything else you worship will eat you alive. If you worship money and things, if they are where you tap real meaning in life, then you will never have enough, never feel you have enough. It's the truth. Worship your body and beauty and sexual allure and you will always feel ugly. And when time and age start showing, you will die a million deaths before they finally grieve you. On one level, we all know this stuff already. It's been codified as myths, proverbs, clichés, epigrams, parables; the skeleton of every great story. The whole trick is keeping the truth up front in daily consciousness.

Worship power, you will end up feeling weak and afraid, and you will need ever more power over others to numb you to your own fear. Worship your intellect, being seen as smart, you will end up feeling stupid, a fraud, always on the verge of being found out. But the insidious thing about these forms of worship is not that they're evil or sinful, it's that they're unconscious. They are default settings.

They're the kind of worship you just gradually slip into, day after day, getting more and more selective about what you see and how you measure value without ever being fully aware that that's what you're doing.

And the so-called real world will not discourage you from operating on your default settings, because the so-called real world of men and money and power hums merrily along in a pool of fear and anger and frustration and craving and worship of self. Our own present culture has harnessed these forces in ways that have yielded extraordinary wealth and comfort and personal freedom. The freedom all to be lords of our tiny skull-sized kingdoms, alone at the center of all creation. This kind of freedom has much to recommend it. But of course there are all different kinds of freedom, and the kind that is most precious you will not hear much talk about much in the great outside world of wanting and achieving and [unintelligible -- sounds like "displayal"]. The really important kind of freedom involves attention and awareness and discipline, and being able truly to care about other people and to sacrifice for them over and over in myriad petty, unsexy ways every day.

That is real freedom. That is being educated, and understanding how to think. The alternative is unconsciousness, the default setting, the rat race, the constant gnawing sense of having had, and lost, some infinite thing.

I know that this stuff probably doesn't sound fun and breezy or grandly inspirational the way a commencement speech is supposed to sound. What it is, as far as I can see, is the capital-T Truth, with a whole lot of rhetorical niceties stripped away. You are, of course, free to think of it whatever you wish. But please don't just dismiss it as just some finger-wagging Dr. Laura sermon. None of this stuff is really about morality or religion or dogma or big fancy questions of life after death.

The capital-T Truth is about life BEFORE death.

It is about the real value of a real education, which has almost nothing to do with knowledge, and everything to do with simple awareness; awareness of what is so real and essential, so hidden in plain sight all around us, all the time, that we have to keep reminding ourselves over and over:

"This is water."

"This is water."

It is unimaginably hard to do this, to stay conscious and alive in the adult world day in and day out. Which means yet another grand cliché turns out to be true: your education really IS the job of a lifetime. And it commences: now.

I wish you way more than luck."

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Da dah dah dah dah do de do do do (that's a song for bicycling)

Remember that scene from Wedding Crashers when Owen Wilson and Rachel McAdams are riding bikes? I could watch all of that movie over and over again, but I sure do love that scene. And whatever song it is playing as they bicycle along the coast. It encompasses the total joy and freedom of summer.

And I want a bike. I haven't had a bike in several years. I now have couple of friends that like biking distance from my house and a little boy who loves to "ride bikes." This means he gets on his tricycle and I push him. Boo.

I am on a a mission to find a bicycle this weekend. I need the whole she-bang. A bike, a helmet, and a child carrier thing for the back. There is a Schwinn store that sells used bikes nearby my house so I think Johan and I will start there on Saturday, but it's been a long time so if anyone has any advice for bike-buying, bring it on.

Saturday, March 20, 2010

Reading Rainbow

The song from Reading Rainbow has been running through my head as I've been thinking about this. Remember?



Anyway, I was a literature major in college. I read literature all the time. In Spanish. In English. All the time. So much, that by the time college ended, I was burned out on it. I only read non-fiction for quite awhile. Biographies, social commentaries, history etc.

Then I went to law school. And spent three years reading cases, analysis, and dense law review articles. After the bar exam, I didn't read anything besides magazines and the newspaper for a long time. I started with some short stories. Some mindless mystery novels. Like candy they taste good but satiate nothing.

I have just recently delved back into the list of New York Times Bestseller and started to feel like a voracious reader again. I am currently in the middle of Outliers (thanks Addie) and Game Change (thanks BJ, although I don't think he reads this and may not know that I have a blog.) It feels great. I had almost forgotten how much I enjoy reading non-fiction. It's like catching up with an old friend or coming home or hot chocolate or some other metaphor that makes you feel comfortable and warm and cozy.

Book reviews of each are forthcoming.

Take a Look; It's in a Book...Reading Rainbow.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Airports

Airports are one of my favorite places. As we were navigating the (huge) Dallas airport and figuring out the internal tram system to get from Terminal B to Terminal D, Eduardo commented that he wishes all flights were direct flights. I don't.

The airport is part of the adventure! The coming and going; the departures and arrivals; I find the tempo of it invigorating.

Of course, pre-2001, spending time in airports during layovers was even better. When non-travellers could go to the gate to meet their people or take them to the gate to say goodbye, airports were a place to see some of the rawest human emotion. Elated reunions and tearful goodbyes.

1999 to 2003 were my busiest travel years and I spent a LOT of time in airports during those years. I miss it. i miss the anticipation of seeing a new place and the satisfaction that comes with getting myself there, airports and all.

When we finally got to the gate in Dallas to meet the airplane that would take us to Corpus Cristi, there were 3 gum-smacking, smart-mouthed, laughing Georgetown co-eds also waiting for the flight, probably going on Spring Break to Padre Island. I didn't even pretend to not be listening to their conversation. They for sure wondered why this weird lady didn't mind her own business and make sure her toddler was sitting quietly rather than listening to their conversation, but whatever. It's the airport. Anything goes.

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Sea

The first 2 months of 2010 have felt like a roar. For good and for bad, a bit like a blur.

We are getting on an airplane in 3 hours to go to Rockport, Texas (near Corpus Cristi). It's not the tropics, but it is on the ocean. This counts more, as for me there is nothing more calming and humbling that sitting or walking along the seashore, listening to the waves and the gulls, watching the tides.

See you on the flip side.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Art

I found a couple of Monica's paintings online. I couldn't remember quite what her work looked like, but now that I see it again, I remember her even more fondly and feel so bittersweet about how the past few days have developed.



Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Monica

Well, more on Chile. My Chilean friend, the one I've been writing about, there's more to say. See, the back story is that I stayed with his grandmother for a few months in 2002. As I've reconnected with him, he has told me that his grandmother died in May of 2008. I don't yet have any details about this, but let me tell you that it has hit my heart hard.


This woman was in her mid 60s when she opened her home to me. She was a painter. She painted landscapes and women's bodies and she was incredibly talented. She had a strained relationship with her children, but was incredibly close to her grandkids. She was devoted to the women incarcerated at the Arica Women's Prison- she went there every week to talk to them, teach painting classes, and just be their friend. She brought me there and opened up my eyes to a world where women are incarcerated while men go free for turning in more connected drug lords. She found this an incredible injustice. She was right.

She had her own emotional and substance use issues. Our relationship was not always smooth or tranquil. As is so common in relationships among people with strong personalities, we had arguments. But for whatever reason or happenstance, our souls were aligned. We made sense to one another. She painted me. I posed for her paintings, something I have never shared with anyone. I never have seen the finished product of what she painted.

I am feeling a tremendous amount of regret for having lost touch with her. A tremendous amount of regret for never telling her how dear she was to me; how much she impacted me; how much I learned while living with her. I always imagined that I would go back to the little poblano artesenal where she lived in Northern Chile and revisit all of her energy and love and art. It won't happen.

I am looking for her paintings online- but haven't found any. Hopefully, I'll get my hands on one and be able to share. I am hoping that I will be able to purchase one of her works from her grandson. We are trying to work out the details.

It is extraordinary and bizarre to me that I would never have known she died were it not for the earthquake. She died almost 2 years before the earthquake, yet in this minutely small way, the earthquake's aftershocks are more tremendous that one can imagine.

Chileno Update

On closer inspection of old Chilean friend's Facebook profile and in reading the messages he's sent me, he seems to have found God in the 8 years since we've seen each other.

At first, I was like, huh? Seriously? Back in 2002 he was sort of half-hippie, half- black leather rocker type. Completely godless musician type. Unless you count guitar and/or Tori Amos to be religion.

Then yesterday, I was telling this to my friend Brianna and she pointed out that perhaps he only found God because they just had an 8.8 earthquake. Good point.

The moral of the story is: if you only contact your old, long lost friends after terrifying and deadly natural disasters, you might find them to be more religious than you once remembered them.

Sunday, February 28, 2010

Terremotos and Facebook

Minneapolis better watch out- I've lived here a lot longer than either Hispanola or Chile. Seems that several years after I leave a place, it has a major earthquake? Oh, what? It's not about me? Oh, ok.

I get overly sentimental. I find it an absolutely annoying part of my personality but basically harmless. When I was in Chile in 2002, I didn't love it. To be more precise, there were situations back home that kept me from enjoying it entirely. However, I made some pretty incredible friends there, mostly Americans. Ok, fine. All of them. I spent my time traipsing about the country with some of most fantastic Americans I know. And we had a blast. Wouldn't change a thing about it.

Today, I've been looking through my photo album from Chile. Twenty year old me, Sarah, Roisin, Liv, Jota, Christie. I can't remember vividly the bad feelings I had while in Chile. My pictures certainly don't reflect those. It looks like the time of my life. In some ways, no doubt, it was. Much laughter. Much debauchery. Much freedom. Much adventure.

Then I started to wonder about this friend I had in Chile- the grandson of this old woman that I stayed with when I was in Arica. He was the only Chilean friend I had. I haven't spoken to him since leaving Arica, but I found myself wanting to know what he's doing- hoping he was ok after the earthquake.

Enter Facebook. I pity the fools who grew up pre-Facebook. Like, when you lose touch with someone you might actually never know what becomes of them. Or there might be reunions 50 years later chronicled in novels or on Lifetime Television for Women! Pu-shaw. I have Facebook. Click, click, click. Oh, there he is! Still in Chile. Still playing the guitar. Married! 4 year old daughter! To not be entirely creepy, I sent him a message along with the friend request. Is that actually creepier? No, it seems strange to friend request a real (would this be the appropriate place to use "IRL"?) old friend without actually talking to them. It is entirely unlike accepting the friend requests of people I was never actually friends with. I need to stop accepting those requests in the first place. I would never actually talk to any of those weirdos.

Back to my old Chileno friend. I like knowing where he is. I like being in contact with him again. So, yeah, I get overly sentimental and nostalgic. Earthquakes make me find old friends on Facebook. Maybe if there's some sort of monsoon in Minnesota this summer, I'll actually want to talk to my Facebook non-friends! But, I'll probably have de-friended them by then so I'd have to go back and do new friend requests. Tiresome. Let's hope for calm weather.

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Positivity

This has felt like a rough couple of weeks. I feel things deeply and tend to take things hard, but only for very short periods of time. I think I am pretty resilient. One thing I am trying to improve is my ability to see the good in even things that are difficult. Addie's comment on my last writing talks about this somewhat.

For example, today when I went out to my car after yoga class, my car would not start. It turns out my car needs a new engine that would cost more than the car is worth. And I still owe money on the car.

But as I walked a few blocks to my dad's house and then back to the yoga studio, I made a list of good things about the situation:

- I got to enjoy yoga class

- I wore good walking shoes, even though I wasn't planning on an early morning icy walk.

- I have resources to get my car towed and people around me to help me get where I need to go.

- I have a job where showing up "late" doesn't jeopardize my employment.

- This happened on a day when Johan could stay home with Eduardo, even though that wasn't the plan.

Even after finding out that my car is DOA and I am going to have to scramble to figure out new wheels, and feeling some fierce frustration that accompanies that, I am trying to keep things in perspective. Today my dad sent me this.

This is such fantastic and hopeful news for my dad and my family and anyone living with MS. A pill to make walking easier. There are smart, dedicated people out there creating pills that can help people with MS walk. That can help my dad walk along as Johan learns to ride a bike.

As I am sitting around trying to come up with money I don't have for a car I wasn't planning on buying, feeling a little sorry for myself, I kept going back to this article. And, well, today was a pretty great day after all.

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Bad Things (Do NOT) Only Happen to Bad People

In my (not so) secret life, I follow the blogs of Christian mommies. One thing they all have in common is believing that everything happens for a reason. And that their God is directing it all with some grand plan in mind. I sometimes want to believe that everything happens for a reason. It can be a comforting thought when things seem particularly difficult or painful.

But, really, how can it possibly be that everything happens for a reason? If you subscribe to that theory, doesn't that mean that bad things happen because someone deserved it? Because someone was bad?

In senior year of high school, several of my friends and I took a class called Theory of Knowledge. Many of the brightest students in my high school were part of the class as it was required to get the IB diploma (don't feel like going into that now and most people that read this either a) have an IB diploma or b) know what it is). One day during a philosophical discussion in class, one of the guys I thought was particularly bright said that bad things don't happen to good people. At the time, I found it so offensive. Really? Did he really think that? As an aside, it turns out this guy is extremely bright (think Ivy League including a Post Doc at Harvard. Yeah.)

Anyway, when he said that, I felt a firm conviction that I believe the exact opposite. Sometimes horrible things happen to very good people. In fact, most bad things that occur happen to good people. There are a lot of bad things. More bad things that bad people, certainly. And there are a lot of good people. I will venture to say that most people qualify as good. Not necessarily smart, funny, and of strong conviction (which are my top criteria for friendship) but nonetheless, good. So, if you believe that, then it is only logical that bad things happen to good people. And if bad things happen to good people, what kind of God is out there directing that?

As I write this, I am pretty sure I have blogged something very similar before. This seems to be a recurring theme that I ponder: how I cannot reconcile wanting to believe that things happen for a reason and the reality that a lot of bad things happen to good people.

Friday, February 5, 2010

Derailed

I have a tendency to have episodes of irrational anxiety. Some of it is at least explainable- I have quite a lot of anxiety around doctors. I don't want them to tell me I am dying. I don't want to be vulnerable. And speaking of vulnerable, don't even get me started on Camel pose at yoga. Heart raised above head and arms thrown back? What if the T-rex rips my insides out?




See what I mean?

Stranger, though, is the anxiety I have leading up to deposing doctors. It's stupid. There are things much more challenging about my job. Judges! Juries! Insane Clients With Unrealistic Expectations! None of that phases me. But for days leading up to deposing a doctor, I don't sleep well and I'm on edge.

My anxiety then becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy of madness. And things that are not that big of a deal feel overwhelming.

That chiropractor's assistant says that I'm not calling clients back?

Ordinary reaction: Well, she's lying. Which clients? I'll call them right now and verify everything is fine.

Pre-doctor deposition reaction: Why is nothing I do enough? How can I spend 50 hours a week working my ass off and still not be doing it right? Is this how everyone sees me? Will everyone believe what she says and I will be first marginalized and then fired?

Yep, that's right. It's absolutely insane. Today one of my law partners (technically partner but really still my boss) commented that I am so brave in everything I do and that this is such a strange thing to allow to derail me. Strange indeed. Fortunately, I tend to bounce back quickly and am back on the rails within a day or so.

And I am reminded that I need to go back to my yoga mat and find camel pose until I can depose a doctor without becoming derailed. Even for a day.

Friday, January 29, 2010

Thanks, Mr. Zinn

Not a good week for men of consequence. Certainly Catcher in the Rye is defining for any introspective person. I used to keep a copy of it tucked into the side of my loft bed between the mattress and the wood when I was in college. I haven't read it in quite awhile. I would like to say I am going to brush the dust off that old book and start it again. But we all know when I get home I am just going to watch Law and Order.

The loss of Howard Zinn this week has touched me even deeper. There are few writers whose prose is powerful enough to change someone's entire outlook; there are few books that have affected me so profoundly that I remember the extraordinary feeling of my mind opening as I read.

That is how it was for me when I first read A People's History of the United States. I was 17. I could hardly speak when I finished the first chapter. I remember sitting on my bed in the quiet of my thoughts. Tracing the stitching on the quilt covering my bed. Trying to process what I had just read. Knowing that I would never look at things quite the same again.

I was raised by educated people who encouraged critical thinking, no doubt. Nevertheless, until I read Zinn, I didn't realize how many ways one history could be told; how differently things are experienced; how the voices of the conquerors and the conquered have different intonations.

So thank you, Mr. Zinn, for your work and for your words.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Politics Trumps Football Every Time

The Vikings lost. It's a shame. But they truly had so many opportunities to win...whatever.

So now it's Colts v. Saints. Indiana v. NOLA. Manning v. Brees.

Who do I cheer for?

Nola? But they kept my team from the Superbowl!

Indiana? But who's Indiana? Manning is a pompous, RNC-donating conservative. He will donate all that money to a political party I despise.

NOLA. There's something about rooting for New Orleans that feels right- even though the Vikings lost to them. 2005 is not that long ago. It's not so long ago that the Bush Administration made one the hugest blunders (oh the blunders...they are countless) of those shameful 8 years in its lack of responsiveness. The definition of inert. I realize success at football doesn't mean a successful city. There's obviously a long way to go. But if New Orleans won the Superbowl, I guess I would feel some sort of moral victory on their behalf.

"Ain't no one gonna hold me down. Oh no. I got to keep on moving.."

Something like that.

So, in short, the combination of Manning the RNC supporter and NOLA the city that won't be drowned means I think I have to root for the Saints in two weeks.

Don't tell Adrian Peterson.

Friday, January 22, 2010

Success...

Work Comp trial today. Whether I end up winning or not, this is success:

Me: Well, on direct examination, you testified that blah blah blah.

Witness: Yes.

Me: And now you're saying the opposite of blah blah blah.

Witness: Uh, yes.

Me: So are you telling the truth now or were you telling the truth then?

Witness: Then.

Me: And you're lying now?

Witness: Wait. Am I supposed to tell the truth, or...

Me: Or what?

Witness: The other stuff.

Me: What other stuff?

Witness: The other stuff I was supposed to say.

Me: No further questions.

Sunday, January 17, 2010

Just Kidding, THIS is the Best Video Ever Made.

I tend to be slow on the uptake (upload?) when it comes to technological advances.

I believe I have just successfully recorded a video on my Black.berry, e-mailed it to mysely, downloaded it to my computer, uploaded it to YouTube, and now embedded it in my blog.

Worth it? You be the judge:

Friday, January 15, 2010

The Best Video Ever Made

Created by the 9-year-old nephew of one the paralegals at my office. I can't stop laughing: